Home - POLS302 - U.S. Political Parties and Elections - Research Guides at Colorado State University Fort Collins

Almanac of American Politics

Almanac+

Use this resource to find profiles of members of Congress and governors, as well as in-depth profiles of your state. To find your state's profile page, type the name of your state into the search box and select it from the drop-down menu.

Almanac of American Politics
Call Number: MORGAN ; JK1012 .A44
ISBN: 9781938939563

The Book of the States by The Council of State Governments
Call Number: E-Book
State Profiles by Sohair M. Abu-Aish; Helmut F. Wendel; Katherine A. Debrandt; Bernan Press Staff
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780890595787
Publication Date: 2002
Guide to U. S. Elections by CQ Press Staff
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781604266528
Publication Date: 2009
The Oxford Handbook of American Elections and Political Behavior by Jan E. Leighley (Editor); George C. Edwards III (General Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780199235476
Publication Date: 2010
The Oxford Handbook of American Political Parties and Interest Groups by Sandy Maisel (Editor); Jeffrey M. Berry (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 0191572799
Publication Date: 2010
The Oxford Handbook of State and Local Government by Donald P. Haider-Markel
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780199579679
Publication Date: 2014
State Constitutional Politics: Governing by Amendment in the American States by John Dinan
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780226532783
Publication Date: 2018
Parties and Elections in America: The Electoral Process by Mark D. Brewer; L. Sandy Maisel
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781538114346
Publication Date: 2018
Presidents and Parties in the Public Mind by Gary C. Jacobson
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780226589206
Publication Date: 2019
Who Will Be the Next President?: A Guide to the U.S. Presidential Election System by Alexander S. Belenky
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9783319446967
Publication Date: 2016

The Book of the States by The Council of State Governments
Call Number: REFERENCE JK2403 .B6
State Party Profiles by Andrew M. Appleton (Editor); Daniel S. Ward (Editor)
Call Number: MORGAN JK2261 .S83 1997
ISBN: 156802150X
Publication Date: 1997
Politics in the American States by Virginia Gray; Russell L. Hanson (Editor); Thad Kousser (Editor)
Call Number: REFERENCE JK2408 .P64 2018
ISBN: 9781506363622
Publication Date: 2017
Party Politics in America by Marjorie Randon Hershey
Call Number: REFERENCE JK2265 .H477 2017
ISBN: 9781138683679
Publication Date: 2017
Politics in America 2014 by C. Q. Roll Call
Call Number: REFERENCE JK1012 .C63
ISBN: 9781452277837
Publication Date: 2014
Congressional Quarterly Almanac by CQ Press
Call Number: REFERENCE JK1 .C66
Publication Date: 2018

State Level Resources

NCSL's State Partisan Comparison
The National Conference of State Legislatures chart of state partisan comparison tracks party control of state legislatures and state governments.
Open States
Track bills, review upcoming legislation, and see how your local representatives are voting in your state.
State Government Information
Compiled by the Library of Congress, this source provides links to state government websites.
State Blue Books
This resource created by ALA Gordot provides links to State Blue Books, which are manuals created by states that describe their organizational structure.
50 State Voting & Election Toolkits
For information on voting and elections throughout the United States for the 2020 election, see this 50 state guide curated by government document librarians from around the country.
State Legislator Data
NCSL data on legislative leaders as well as women, African-Americans, and Hispanics serving in state legislatures.
Our Campaigns: State Office Elections
This resource has election results for a variety of statewide offices, including governor, in many cases covering much of the 20th century.

Election Indices

Cook PVI Measures
First introduced in 1997, the Cook PVI measures how each district performs at the presidential level compared to the nation as a whole.
Elections Performance Index
From MIT, an interactive map that measures how each state performed in the last election.

Election Results

David Leip's Atlas of US Presidents
Maps and tables with Presidential votes since 1789. Maps outline state electoral votes. Tables show major and independent presidential and vice presidential candidates, popular and electoral votes, and percentages for both. It also provides Senate (1990-2011) and Gubernatorial (1990-2011) elections information.

America Votes; 33: Election Returns By State, 2017-2018. by CQ Press
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2020
A handbook that includes official, state-certified election returns for the presidential, House, Senate, and gubernatorial elections of 2017 and 2018. Including both primary and general election data.
America Votes 32 : Election Returns by State, 2015-2016 by CQ Press
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2018
A handbook that includes official, state-certified election returns for the presidential, House, Senate, and gubernatorial elections of 2015 and 2016. Including both primary and general election data.

State Legislative Election Returns, 1967-2016
State legislative general election and (some) primary returns (1967–2016) mostly at the district level.
MIT Election Data Lab
This resource contains constituency (state-level) returns for elections to the U.S. Senate (1927-2018), U.S. House (1972-2018), U.S. President (1976-2016).
Harvard Election Data Archive
Precinct-level election data for U.S. State for elections from 2002 to 2012.

Data & Statistics

Sage Data
Coverage: Varies depending on the dataset.
The largest repository of standardized and structured statistical data, Data Planet includes over 6.2 billion datasets and offers immediate access to data presented in charts, maps, graphs, and table form. Users can compare billions of indicators at the county, MSA, census-tract, state, and country level.
Data.gov
Coverage: Varies
Data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations. Most data is downloadable
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest)
Coverage: 1878 to present
A comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Social Explorer
Coverage: 1790 to present
Social Explorer is an online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.

State and Local Government Finances and Employment
Compiled by the Census Bureau, this resource provides data on revenues, expenditures, debt, and employment of state and local governments.
globalEDGE
Source for international business and trade information on all 50 U.S. states. In addition to demographic, economic, and historical information on each state, you will find data on corporations with headquarters in each state, and links to state-specific resources.
Federal, State and Local Government
Compiled by the U.S. Census Burea, this resource provides data for the Federal, state and local governments as well as voting, redistricting, apportionment and congressional affairs.

Your Librarian

Khaleedah Thomas

she/her

Email Me

Library Help

Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.