Archives & Special Collections: Getting Started

A guide to getting started finding, using, and citing materials in Archives & Special Collections

Welcome!

Welcome to Archives & Special Collections: Getting Started, a guide to researching with materials in the CSU Libraries, Archives & Special Collections department. Here you will find these highlighted collections that are just a sampling of our holdings and more...

We're Here to Help

Searching for, finding, and using one-of-a-kind materials can be complicated. That's why the Archives & Special Collections staff is here to help!

Our physical materials can only be used onsite, so you will need to contact us to make an appointment (email us at library_dl_specialcollections@mail.colostate.edu). We are also available to consult with you about your research and help you identify material (physical and digital) matching your interests.

Keep in mind that using rare and fragile materials can be slow going, so allow plenty of time for your research.

If you are unable to visit, you can request a reproduction (fees may apply).

For more information about archival research, take a look at Using Archives: A Guide to Effective Research from the Society of American Archivists or A Survival Guide to Archival Research from the American Historical Association.

More Assistance

See additional guides to different areas of our department:

Contact Us

Archives and Special Collections's picture
Archives and Special Collections
Contact:
Morgan Library, Suite 202
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, Colorado 80523-1019
(970) 491-1844
Website

24/7 Library Help

24/7 Library Help

Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.

URL: https://libguides.colostate.edu/archives_gettingstarted | Print Page