- Colorado State University Libraries
- Research Guides
- HIST 360: United States Immigration History
- Finding Background Information
HIST 360: United States Immigration History
- Finding Background Information
- Finding Books
- Finding Articles
- Finding Primary SourcesToggle Dropdown
- Finding Streaming Media
- Conducting Oral Histories
- Reading in History
- Citing Your Research
Finding Background Information
For background information, definitions, and basic facts, consult the following encyclopedias, dictionaries, and sourcebooks listed on this page. All print materials are located in the Reference Collection on the ground floor of Morgan Library. Reference items are for use only in the library. History materials can be found in the C - F sections of the collection. Ask a librarian for help, if needed.
Online Reference Resources
- Cambridge CompanionsA series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods. Subjects covered include American Studies, Culture, Law, Literature, Management, Music, Philosophy, Religion, and the Ancient World.
- Gale eBooks (Encyclopedias & more)Coverage: Varies
Provides access to encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Oxford ReferenceCoverage: Varies
Online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions, and Encyclopedias.
- 50 Events That Shaped Latino History [2 Volumes] by Lilia Fernández (Editor)ISBN: 9781440837623Publication Date: 2018-03-22Which historical events were key to shaping Latino culture? This book provides coverage of the 50 most pivotal developments over 500 years that have shaped the Latino experience, offering primary sources, biographies of notable figures, and suggested readings for inquiry.
- Colorado by Carl Abbott; Stephen J. Leonard; Thomas J. NoelCall Number: MORGAN F776 .A22 2013ISBN: 9781607322269Publication Date: 2013-06-15Since 1976, newcomers and natives alike have learned about the rich history of the magnificent place they call home from Colorado: A History of the Centennial State. In the fifth edition, coauthors Carl Abbott, Stephen J. Leonard, and Thomas J. Noel incorporate recent events, scholarship, and insights about the state in an accessible volume that general readers and students will enjoy.
- Colorado EncyclopediaColorado Encyclopedia is the leading online reference work on the Centennial State, with more than 700 main entries on the state’s history and culture. It has been recognized as an authoritative source.
- The Encyclopedia of ColoradoCall Number: REFERENCE F776 .E53 1999
- Encyclopedia of Diasporas by Carol R. Ember (Editor); Melvin Ember (Editor); Ian A. Skoggard (Editor)ISBN: 0306483211Publication Date: 2004-11-30Immigration is a topic that is as important among anthropologists as it is the general public. Almost every culture has experienced adaptation and assimilation when immigrating to a new country and culture; usually leaving for what is perceived as a "better life". Not only does this diaspora change the country of adoption, but also the country of origin. Many large nations in the world have absorbed, and continue to absorb, large numbers of immigrants. The foreseeable future will see a continuation of large-scale immigration, as many countries experience civil war and secessionist pressures.
- Encyclopedia of Ellis Island by Barry Moreno (Editor)Call Number: MORGAN JV6484 .M67 2004ISBN: 0313326827Publication Date: 2004-12-30Ellis Island, at the southern tip of Manhattan, was the major portal for European immigrants to the United States and looms large in 19th century and early 20th century history. After extensive restoration, today it is a national symbol and important museum. Authored by a noted historian and librarian at the Ellis Island Immigration Museum, this is the first encyclopedia devoted to the Island, documenting its various incarnations. It contains more than 430 essay entries on the crucial people, operations, rooms and buildings, events, immigration laws and acts, organizations, and other terms associated with the island's history.
- The Great Black Migration by Steven A. ReichISBN: 9781610696654Publication Date: 2014-04-17Treating broad themes as well as specific topics, this guide to the Great Black Migration will introduce high school students to a touchstone critical to shaping the history of African Americans in the United States.
- The Making of Modern Immigration by Patrick J. Hayes (Editor)ISBN: 0313392021Publication Date: 2012-02-13Combining the insight of two-dozen expert contributors to examine key figures, events, and policies over 200 years of U.S. immigration history, this work illuminates the foundations of the ethnic and socioeconomic makeup of our nation.
Ask a Librarian
Ask Us About:
- Finding articles, books, & more
- Using library resources
- Citing your sources
Subjects: Accounting, Agriculture, Anthropology, Art, Biology, Business, Chemistry, Citation Style Guides, Communication & Journalism, Company Information, Computer Information Systems, Computer Science, Construction Management, Design & Merchandising, Diversity & Inclusion, Economics, Education, Engineering, English, Environmental Sciences & Sustainability, Ethnic Studies, Finance, Food Science & Human Nutrition, Forestry & Rangeland Science, Geosciences, Government Publications (US), Grants, Health & Exercise Science, History, Human Development & Family Studies, Human Dimensions of Natural Resources, Industry Information, International Business, International Development, Investments, Languages & Linguistics, Law, Marketing, Math/Statistics, Medical & Health Sciences, Music, Theater & Dance, Natural Resources, Newspapers & News Sources, Occupational Therapy, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Primary Sources, Psychology, Public Health, Social Work, Sociology, Statistical & Data Sources, Taxation, Veterinary Medicine, Water, Women's Studies
URL: https://libguides.colostate.edu/c.php?g=1176130 | Print Page