Use CSU Libraries databases to search for articles related to your research topic. For your work in this course begin with the databases listed for food science and human nutrition but note that a short list of recommended databases to try first is included on this page, below.

General tips.

To access library databases:

• Have handy your CSU e-name and e-password (the same credentials that you use to logon to RamWeb)
• Navigate to a database using the links provided below, or via databases listed for food science and human nutrition
• Enter your CSU e-name and e-password when prompted on-screen
   
• Online fulltext (the entire text of an article) is not always directly available from the database record. From a database record, use the button to check for immediate, online access to the fulltext article through the CSU Libraries.
   
• If shows that fulltext is not available, use the on-screen option to submit an interlibrary loan request for the article.
  
  Most interlibrary loan requests for articles are fulfilled within 48 hours or less: the fulltext article PDF is posted to your online interlibrary loan account and you receive an email from "WebView" indicating that the article has been placed in your interlibrary loan account. Logon to your interlibrary loan account and from the left-hand menu click WebView in order to view the fulltext article PDFs that have been posted to your account.

All CSU Libraries databases are available from the Articles & Databases tab on the Libraries homepage.
 

Databases to try first.

PubMed

PubMed comprises more than 23 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

PubMed Advanced Search
A brief introduction to conducting searches using PubMed's Advanced Search screen.

PubMed Tutorial
A comprehensive, modular tutorial about conducting searches in PubMed. This includes a Clinical Queries module which will help you learn how to use PubMed's Clinical Queries feature to identify specifically systematic reviews, meta-analyses, and more.

PubMed Help
Additional, comprehensive PubMed Help.

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration.

The Cochrane Library is also the source for the fulltext of Cochrane systematic reviews, which you may see in your search results in PubMed or other databases. If you are seeking the fulltext of a specific Cochrane systematic review, search the Cochrane Library by the title of that review, for example, in order to retrieve it.

Note the Search Help link, immediately below the Cochrane Library's search box.

About the Cochrane Library

How to Use the Cochrane Library

Links to tutorials, comprehensive help information, and more.

Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA)

Covers all areas of food science, food technology, and human nutrition. Please note that the Libraries has access for only one user at a time; if you cannot access this database, please try again at a later time.

Do not limit your searches in FSTA by using the search screen's "linked full text" limit. Run your searches without this limit and use the button from records to easily check for fulltext access, through the CSU Libraries, to the article described by the database record.

Too many irrelevant results? Experiment with changing one or more of the search box settings to KW Keywords or add to your search a word/phrase for an additional concept (i.e. instead of searching only "coeliac disease", search "coeliac disease" and gluten).

Too few results? Simplify your search by removing a concept from your search and/or try different words/phrases in your search.

Seeking specific article types or studies that report the use of a specific methodology? Add related words/phrases to your search, such as "review of the literature", "literature review", "meta-analysis", "systematic review", quantitative, interviews , "focus groups", survey , questionnaire . . .

Web of Science

Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings.

*Currently, use Web of Science with a browser other than Internet Explorer, such as Firefox, Safari, or Chrome.

Comprehensive help for Web of Science

Also accessible from the top-right corner of the Web of Science search screen.

Online tutorials

Start with this search tips tutorial.

To determine if the Libraries provides access to a specific article or journal, browse the journal a-z list or run a search in the Citation Linker that is available at top in the Primo Advanced Search screen.