Research Guides: Black Issues Forum: General Resources

Database Search Tips

To search effectively, break down your topic to keywords.
Combine your keywords with connecting words - AND, OR, NOT (see this QUICK TUTORIAL on search techniques)
Start broad --> go narrow
Use a Wildcard symbol (*) after the root of a word to bring in variations of a word - psych* (psychology, psychological, psychic...)

Search term tips

Try a variety of terms
- African American*, Black*, Afro-American*, race
Combine with a broader topic
- education, health, media, politic*, society
Remember to use connecting words:
- African American* AND media
- Black* AND higher AND education

Research guides to help you get started with your research. Most guides are organized by subject area (ex. chemistry, English), but we also have guides for specific classes and topics (ex. citation).

Academic search Premier
Multi-disciplinary, scholarly database. Includes full text for 4500+ titles, 3600+ of which are peer-reviewed journals.
Business Source Complete
Provides bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 and full text journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. The database full text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
CQ Research Online
A collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
Ethnic NewsWatch
A comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database covering journal articles and conference proceedings in arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Resource Type: Research Databases

Black Thought and Culture: African Americans to 1975
Contains the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans, including interviews, journal articles, letters and other fugitive material.
Black Women in America
Describes the achievements of black women throughout history and highlights their ongoing contributions in America today.
Black Short Fiction and Folklore: African, African American and Diaspora
Collection of African and African-Diaspora short stories published from the mid-1900s to the present.
Black Drama: 1850 to Present
Contains plays by Black and African American playwrights and information on related productions, theaters, and production companies.

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
Coverage: 1790-2000
Features approximately 1,600 primary source documents related to critical people and events in Black or African American history, particularly regarding the struggle against racial injustice in the United States.
Ebony Magazine Archive
Coverage: 1945-2014
Originally published by John H. Johnson beginning in November 1945, Ebony has served as an influential African-American magazine promoting stories important to the black community and focusing on the achievements of African-American leaders. Spanning 70 years of content, from 1945 through 2014, this searchable full-text archive provides an in-depth look at African-American business, history, politics, entertainment, fashion, and culture.

Library of Congress: The African American Odyssey
Historical papers and records relating to the African American experience.
The African American Mosaic
A Library of Congress resource guide for the study of Black History & Culture.
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
A research unit of The New York Public Library, is generally recognized as one of the leading institutions of its kind in the world. For over 80 years the Center has collected, preserved, and provided access to materials documenting black life, and promoted the study and interpretation of the history and culture of peoples of African descent.
IN MOTION The African-American Migration Experience
In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience presents a new interpretation of African-American history, one that focuses on the self-motivated activities of peoples of African descent to remake themselves and their worlds.
The Economist: African-American Issues
Articles about African-American topics from the newspaper The Economist.
African American Data Links (US Census Information)
This is a link to the US Census data page about the Black/African American population in the US. It includes reports and a population snapshot.