Research Guides: Women's Studies: Finding Articles

Article databases

Academic Search Premier* Multi-disciplinary, scholarly database. Includes full text for 4500+ titles, 3600+ of which are peer-reviewed journals.
America: History and Life* Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
AnthroSource* Provides access to research and communications tools in anthropological scholarship.
Communication & Mass Media Complete* Covers mass media. Indexes research journals, major journalism reviews, recent encylopedias, and handbooks in the area of communcation studies.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide* Indexes a variety of print and internet-based resources relevant to family studies from a variety of social science disciplines.
Historical Abstracts* Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
JSTOR Digital archive back issues of scholarly journals in multiple disciplines. Many titles not available for the most recent five years. Tutorials.
MLA International Bibliography* Index of international journal articles, books and dissertations on literature; language and linguistics; folklore; literary theory & criticism; dramatic arts; historical aspects of printing.
Project Muse Full-text online access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press and other scholarly publishers. Includes literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, economics, Women's Studies, Gender and Sexuality and many others.
PsycINFO* Citations and summaries in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines published in peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. Resource guides for Feminism (video) and Sexuality & Gender Identity; a more general Quick Reference guide and short video tutorials on various database features.
Sociological Abstracts* Indexes and abstracts the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Web of Science Multidisciplinary database covering journal articles and conference proceedings in arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Women Writers Online Contains full-text of more than 100 texts by English and American women published between 1500 and 1850, and introductory essays written by contemporary scholars.

*These and many other subject-specific EBSCOhost databases can be searched simultaneously by selecting Choose Databases at the upper left-corner of each of their respective search screens.

Basic mechanics for making efficient search statements

Core principles for creating efficient search statements that are applicable in virtually any database.

And	Or	Not
Each result contains all search terms.	Each result contains at least one search term.	Results do not contain the specified terms.
The search heart and lung finds items that contain both heart andlung.	The search heart or lung finds items that contain either heart or items that containlung.	The search heart not lung finds items that contain heart but do not containlung.

Wildcard (#): The “#” replaces any extra characters that may appear in alternative spellings. For example, “colo#r” finds both color and colour.
Wildcard (?): The “?” replaces one character, for example “ne?t” finds neat, nest, or next, but will not find net.
Truncation (*): The “*” replaces any number of characters and will find all forms of a word root, for example, “therap*” finds therapy, therapies, therapist, therapists, therapeutic, therapeutically, etc.