Environmental Impact Statements (EIS)
Environmental Impact Statements at CSU Libraries
Federal agencies are required to produce environmental impact statements whenever, according to the National Environmental Policy Act of 1969, "their actions significantly affect the environment".
CSU Libraries collects environmental impact statements from Colorado and surrounding states, particularly Wyoming, Utah, Arizona, New Mexico and Kansas. The library concentrates on final environmental impact statements, but some of the resources linked on this guide include draft EIS documents as well as those outside of the Colorado region.
Find Environmental Impact Statements
Databases
- EPA Environmental Impact Statement DatabaseBrowse or search for environmental impact statements from 1987 to the present. Newer records include EPA comments and/or full text. Search Tip: The title search for this database appears to interpret all words typed into the search box as a phrase. Limit your searches to one or two words and use the state, date, and agency limits to retrieve the best results.
- Environmental Impact Statements: Full-Text & DigestCoverage: Varies
Provides detailed abstracts of environmental impact statements issued by the federal government. Searches both full-text EIS and digests.
Library Catalog
If you cannot find the full text of an EIS in one of the databases listed above, try searching the CSU Libraries catalog (now called Primo.) The Libraries has final environmental impact statements in both print and electronic forms, mostly from the Colorado region, but some from other areas of the United states as well.
- Primo Advanced SearchFind materials in the CSU Libraries catalog by using the "Books and More" option. To search the catalog and some additional library resources, choose the "Almost Everything" option.
Search the Internet
Some federal agencies post their environmental impact statements, environmental assessments, and/or supporting documents on the internet. To find these, a search engine such as Google is often the best tool to use.
If you use Google, try out the advanced search options which allow you to limit your search to a specific domain (such as .gov) or a specific website (such as fs.fed.us).
- How to Use Google Advanced SearchVideo from the David L. Rice Library at the University of Southern Indiana.
You may also want to try the options listed in the More Government Information box.
Still Can't Find What You Need?
Please contact the library using one of the options on this page.
Search Example for ProQuest EIS Database
Scenario:
You are searching for the environmental impact statement for the Northern Integrated Supply Project. (NISP). You don't know if a draft or final statement is available.
You search the EIS Database for Northern Integrated Supply Project.
This is the results screen:
Many of the Environmental Impact Statements are full-text in the database. If not, search the library catalog (Primo) or go to Google and use the search, look for agency websites that might compile links to all the documents.
EIS Supporting Documents
There might be other documents which support an EIS, those are often found on agency webpages or through searching the Federal Register or other government websites.
Examples of other NISP documents:
More Government Information
- Search the U.S. GovernmentSearch all federal, state, and local government websites with one search, including those without the .gov suffix.
- Government Information Research GuideLinks and instructions for finding information produced by all levels of the U.S. government.
Library Help
Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.