ERHS693D Health Physics
Search the following sources to find a standard
ANSI Webstore and Compendex are great sources to search for standards. Compendex allows for more advanced searching than other standards only resources, but is not as comprehensive for standards as other sources, as Compendex also contains many other forms of engineering-related documents.
Search the following sources to find a standard and/or to find full-text of a standard that you have found through another source.
Search ASABE standards by selecting the Standards in the Search In: menu and using the default Find words anywhere selection. If you receive too many results, uncheck Find words anywhere and check the Keyword list and Title boxes to limit where your keyword search terms appear.
Browse ASABE Standards by selecting Browse Publications and clicking Standards (located at the top of the list of options).
Search ASTM Compass by selecting "Standard" from the dropdown menu, then searching keywords. Use filters on the left hand side of the page to narrow results to Standards (active, historical, etc.), technical committee, topic, industry sector, and date ranges.
Note that ASTM Standards found via the ANSI Webstore, the full text standard can be located in ASTM Compass database by entering the standard number (E1894-18, for example) in the search box or by searching for the title.
In a standard's detail page, view Historical Version(s) (located in Related Items menu on the right). If a standard has been superseded, a link to the current active standard will appear beneath the standard title header.
Search IEEE standards by keyword or browse by collection, topic, number (or letter), or ICS Code. When using the Search function, select Standards from the dropdown menu.
If browsing by number, note that many health physics and radiation related standards are located under the "N" classification, which can be found by using the Browse function and selecting the Number tab. Then, select "N" to view standards with N classification.
If browsing by topic, note that health physics standards can fall under a number of IEE topics, including (but not limited to):
- Nuclear engineering
- Fields, waves & electromagnetics
- Power, energy, & industry applications
- Components, circuits, devices, & systems
- Engineered materials, dielectrics, & plasmas
Use filters on the left hand side to filter for Active or Inactive standards.
Note that for IEEE Standards found via the ANSI Webstore, the full text standard can be located in IEEExplore by entering the standard number (N42.17A, for example) in the search box or by searching for the title.
In a standard's detail page, view historical versions or revised/updated versions by clicking on the link under the standard title header.
Search SAE Mobilus by selecting the Search tab at the top of the page. Enter keywords into the search bar and select fields to search (default is Metadata + Full Text, which, essentially, means the standard description and the full text). To narrow results, select Abstract, Metadata Only, or Title and search select keywords. Use the Advanced Search option to combine search terms targeted to different fields.
Use Content Type filters on the left hand side of the page to filter to Standards. Note that SAE separates standards out by sector (Aerospace Standard and Ground Vehicle Standard, for example).
Get Full Text of Standards
After finding the standard that you need, the next step is finding full text of that standard.
- Search Primo (CSU's Library Catalog). Try searching with the producing organization name or abbreviation in addition to either the standard number and title. Standards may be listed in the catalog either the number and/or title, so try searching with the number and title separately.
- Search one of CSU's Standards Databases (see above), which may provide full text access to a standard. Many of the standards included in these databases do not come up in Primo.
- Submit an interlibrary loan request. After signing into your ILLiad account, use the Standards request (on the menu on the left hand side) to start a request for full text of a standard. You will need to provide as much information as possible to help library staff locate the correct standard, including the standard title, number, producing organization, and year. Standards are can be expensive, and if ILL has to spend more than $50 on a standard, they will ask you if you want them to order it for a fee.
Finding full texts of standards can be little tricky. If you have difficulty finding full text or submitting an interlibrary loan request for a standard, please let me know (firstname.lastname@example.org).