Research Guides: HDFS250: Intro to Research Methods: Search for sources

Find sources

APA PsycInfo
Coverage: 1887 to present
Citations and summaries in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines published in peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
Coverage: 1930 to present
Comprehensive coverage of research, policy and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development and social welfare.

Identify keywords

Example search:

Tip: the * makes the database search for different endings of the root word, so child* searches for child, children, childless, etc. This is called truncation.

Use library search techniques

Beginner Search Techniques Tutorial - view in new window

Use search limits

The APA PsycInfo and Family Society Studies Worldwide databases have many ways that you can refine, or customize, your search using limits. These are available on the left-hand side of the search screen.

For this assignment, make sure you limit your results to articles from the last ten years using the Publication Date slider (or typing in the From box).
Limit your results to Academic Journals to see only research articles. You'll still need to check on your own if the articles are empirical.
You may also want to limit your results to English and review the other limit options.
NOTE: Avoid using the Linked Full Text limit—it eliminates many of the articles you can access immediately. See "Get full text & cite" for full text options.

Your Librarian

Renae Watson

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

E: renae.watson@colostate.edu
Ph: 970-491-5338

Library Help

Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.