Consumer Health Information
2019 CORONAVIRUS
CSU, state, and federal health agencies are closely monitoring the 2019 novel coronavirus outbreak. Please contact the CSU Health Center (970-491-7121) to make an appointment or discuss concerns with a provider.
As always, wash your hands: https://www.asm.org/Press-Releases/2019/September-1/Towards-Better-Hand-Hygiene-for-Flu-Prevention
- Coronavirus Updates (MedlinePlus)Get up to date, consumer level information about the coronavirus, including symptoms, tests, and care.
- Coronavirus Information (CDC)Get up to date coronavirus information from the Center for Disease Control (CDC).
- Coronavirus Information (WHO)Get up to date worldwide coronavirus information from the World Health Organization.
- This Week in VirologyMicrobiologists with the podcast This Week in Virology are posting episodic updates about the coronavirus (and other viruses).
- How to Prepare for Coronavirus (NYTimes)Get a couple of tips of how to protect yourself from illness (hint: not just coronavirus, but also the flu, etc.) with this piece from the NYTimes.
The following publishers have removed access restrictions to some or all content
Influenza
- Influenza (CDC)Get all your questions about flu answered with the CDC's comprehensive flu resource center.
- Influenza Weekly Surveillance Report (CDC)Get updates on flu activity by state in the CDC's weekly flu surveillance report.
- Flu Basics (MedlinePlus)Learn your flu basics with MedlinePlus (from the National Library of Medicine)
Finding Health & Medical Information
We've all been there. You feel a twinge and you immediately do what we call "the panic Google." These resources are geared towards patients and consumers (not clinicians or researchers). They are also freely available to the public (so you can access them after you are a student at CSU).
Finding quality health and medical information can be frustrating and confusing. We're here to help!
General Medical & Health Information
- MEDLINE PLUSMEDLINE PLUS is a portal for health and drug information for consumers and patients.
- Clear Health (NIH)Browse or search a database of health information organized by topic (African American Health, for example) or diagnosis (Diabetes, Type II, for example) to get reliable medical information from the National Institute of Health.
- Health Conditions A-Z (NHS)Browse or search health conditions and procedures via the UK's National Health Service (NHS).
- Women's HealthExplore physical, mental, and sexual topics related to women's health.
- Wellness ToolkitsDiscover "Wellness Toolkits" for mental, emotional, and physical health in both English and Spanish.
- HealthCare.GovAccess information about acquiring health insurance.
- Evaluating Health WebsitesGet some general tips on how to evaluate health websites for reliability and accuracy.
Drugs & Supplements
- Drug PortalSearch drug information by name or category.
- Medicines (A-Z) (NHS)Search and browse facts about different medicines from the UK's National Health Service (NHS).
- LACTMED"The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate. All data are derived from the scientific literature and fully referenced. A peer review panel reviews the data to assure scientific validity and currency."
- Dietary Supplement Information DatabaseSearch by ingredient, product, or manufacturer.
- PillboxNot sure which pills are in your pillbox? Search different pills by shape, color, and more to find out what they are.
Genetics
- Genetics Home ReferenceConsumer genetic information from the National Institute of Health (NIH).
Environmental and Disaster Health Information
- Disaster Information Management CenterFind information on what to do and how to prepare for natural or public health disasters or emergencies.
- TOXNETLook up information about possible toxic chemical and substance, including possible exposure situations/locations and health consequences.
Cancer
- Cancer DictionaryExplanations of cancer-related medical terms
- National Cancer Institute: About CancerAnswers to questions about cancer diagnosis, management, and treatment.
- Cancer Statistics & Resources (CDC)Cancer statistics and other information available through the Center for Disease Control (CDC).
LGBTQIA+
- LGBT+ Health (CDC)Explore health topics relating to the LGBT+ plus community.
- LGBT+ Resources (APA)Browse publications and fact sheets relating to different topics for the LGBT+ community.
- LGBTQ Resources (NAMI)Resources and information from theNational Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) to support the LGBTQ community.
Mental Health & Wellness
- Fact Sheets & Infographics (NAMI)Infographics and fact sheets from the National Alliance on Mental Illness.
- Mental Health: Let's Talk About ItLearn more about various mental health topics and get access to help resources.
- Mental Health America: ToolsExplore different questionnaires, worksheets, and tools to live a healthier life.
Finding Medical Research
- PubMed (National Library of Medicine)PubMed is a free database of medical literature that you can search to see if research has been published about your topic of interest.
- PsycInfoPsycINFO is a great resource for finding research about mental health and wellness. This is a database that requires a library login. At CSU, you can use your CSU eid and login information. After you leave CSU, visit a public library (many public libraries subscribe to this database) to get information about how to log in using the public library's system.
Sexual Health
- Sexual Health Resources (Colorado State University)Information about STIs/STDs, contraception, and testing services available at CSU.
- Sexual Health (CDC)Explore sexual health and safety topics from the Center for Disease Control (CDC).
- AIDS SourceCurrent and up to date information about HIV and AIDS.
- Sexual Health Topics (Planned Parenthood)Explore answers to all your questions about sexual health and more.
Ask a Librarian
CSU Librarians
Ask a Research Question
Ask Us About:
- Finding articles, books, & more
- Using library resources
- Citing your sources
Subjects: Accounting, Aerospace & Military Science, Agricultural & Resource Economics, Agricultural Biology, Agriculture (all), Agriculture & Natural Resources, Animal & Equine Science, Anthropology, Apparel & Merchandising, Art & Art History, Atmospheric Science, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, Biological & Physical Sciences, Biology, Biomedical Sciences, Business (all), Business (Company), Business (Finance), Business (Industry), Business (International), Business (Marketing), Chemistry, Citation Style Guides, Communication & Journalism, Communication Studies, Composition & Communication, Computer Science, Construction Management, Counseling & Career Development, Criminology, Dance, Design, Diversity & Inclusion, Ecology, Economics, Education, Engineering, Engineering & Math, English Language & Literature, Environmental & Radiological Health Sciences, Ethnic Studies, Family & Consumer Sciences, Fermentation Science & Technology, Film Studies, Fish, Wildlife, & Conservation Biology, Food Science & Human Nutrition, Forest & Rangeland Stewardship, Geography, Geology, Government (U.S.), Health & Exercise Science, History, Horticulture & Landscape Architecture, Hospitality & Tourism Management, Human Development & Family Studies, Human Dimensions of Natural Resources, Interdisciplinary Liberal Arts, Journalism & Media Communication, Languages, Literatures, & Cultures, Legal Studies, Library & Information Science, Mathematics, Music, Natural Resources, Occupational Therapy, Organizational Leadership & Human Resources, Philosophy & Religion, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, Public Policy & Administration, Social Sciences/Human Studies, Social Work, Sociology, Soil & Crop Sciences, Sport Management, Statistics & Data Science, Sustainability, Veterinary Medicine, Water, Women's & Gender Studies
24/7 Library Help
Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.
