150 Years of University History

Resources to assist you in your research on topics related to CSU's history

Making History CSU@150 Contest!

Contest Details

Making History: The CSU@150 Contest Information

 

Introduction

All Colorado State University students are invited to compete in the campus wide Making History contest starting on Tuesday, February 11th, 2020.  Submit your most thrilling/interesting/strange/cool finds from the Libraries’ University Archives for a chance to win up to four RamCash prizes in celebration of CSU’s 150th anniversary. 

 

What You Do

Pick an object, collection, set of papers, book, image, or other items that you find interesting in the University Archives (https://lib.colostate.edu/find/archives-special-collections/collections/university-archives/ or in Mountain Scholar (https://mountainscholar.org/handle/10217/100064).

 

Research the item or area of your choosing and submit a reviewable product about your findings to Archives & Special Collections.  Consider (and describe) why this item or collection is cool and of interest. What is the historical relevance of your findings? Why should someone care about this topic? Examples of submissions include:

 

  • Social media posts
  • Zines
  • Comics
  • Posters
  • Newspaper articles
  • And more  - be creative!

 

To help you get started, Archives & Special Collections will hold information sessions February 13th and 19th to showcase university collections and answer questions. Projects are due on March 6th, 2020.  They can be submitted over email at library_dl_specialcollections@mail.colostate.edu, dropped off at Archives & Special Collections, Morgan Library 202, between 8:30-4:30 on weekdays, or anytime the Library Help Desk is open. Projects should be labeled with name and contact information.

 

How Entries are Judged

Submissions will be reviewed by CSU Library staff for accuracy, and not all submissions will be entered in the final contest. The approved submissions will then be posted to CSU Library’s Facebook, and Instagram accounts on March 23rd, 2020 to be voted on by followers. On April 7th, 2020, up to four submissions with the most “likes” combined across all social media platforms will be crowned winners, each receiving $150 RamCash for their creativity and hard work.

 

If you are a winner, you will be notified via email.

 

 

Important Dates

  • Contest start: February 11, 2020
  • Student submissions due to Archives & Special Collections: March 3, 2020
  • Posting (and voting) begins: March 23, 2020 (all posts that week)
  • Voting ends: March 27, 2020 at 5 PM
  • Winners announced: Tuesday, April 7, 2020

 

Contest Rules

Eligibility

  1. All students currently enrolled at Colorado State University are eligible to participate.

 

Entries

  1. Each entrant must submit only one entry to the contest.
  2. Entries must be submitted by March 3, 2020, in order to be considered for a prize.
  3. By submitting an entry to the contest, students acknowledge that they give permission to Colorado State University Library to use the submission on the Internet, social media, or in any other form of advertising or publicity in perpetuity.
  4. Don't hesitate to consult with Archives & Special Collections staff with questions about the use of archival materials. 
  5. Entries must be original and new work, created specifically for the contest. Projects created for a previous or current class cannot be submitted as entries.
  6. Not all entries will be considered for posting, if deemed inaccurate by CSU Library staff.

 

Collections materials

  1. All non-restricted materials from the University Archives are open for use by students for this contest.

 

Judging

  1. Entries will first be reviewed by CSU Library staff for historical accuracy. Entries that are deemed historically accurate will then be posted to CSU Library Facebook and Twitter accounts for voting.  Entries will be posted at the Library’s discretion.
  2. Social media voting, based on the number of Likes garnered, will begin at 9 a.m. on March 23, 2020, and end at 5 p.m. on March 27, 2020.
  3. The entries with the most “likes” across the Library’s Facebook and Instagram will be deemed winners. Contest winners will be notified by email on April 7, 2020.

 

Awards

  1. Making History will award up to four entrants whose work garnered the most “likes” across CSU Library’s social media platforms with $150 RamCash each.

 

 

Making History Contest Resources

Helpful Links and Suggestions

  • Visit the University Archives homepage for information about our department and collections.
  • Mountain Scholar the digital repository for CSU and other Colorado and Wyoming institutions contains collections and materials from the University Archive that have been digitized.  

While there are many digital resources in Mountain Scholar, more useful material is available in the physical collections.  If an item has been digitized, a link is provided in the finding aid.  Some interesting collections include:

  • Presidential papers are good resources to use while exploring the history of CSU.  The Papers of Elijah Edwards, CSU's first president, is a fun collection to delve into.  The Papers of Charles A. Lory offer a glimpse of the university and the man from the early 1900s to the 1960s.  The archive has other presidential collections as well.
  • Some scrapbooks in the Faculty and Alumni Scrapbook Collection are digitized but there are many other fascinating albums.
  • The Collection on Student Unrest provides a trove of ideas!
  • Interested in the history of campus clubs?  The Student Outdoor Clubs Collection is a fun collection to explore.  The University Archive has other student club records to research in addition to this collection.

Digital resources:

Your Librarian

Vicky Lopez-Terrill's picture
Vicky Lopez-Terrill
Contact:
Vicky Lopez-Terrill
Morgan Library
Archives and Special Collections
Room 202
970-491-1466

24/7 Library Help

24/7 Library Help

Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.

URL: https://libguides.colostate.edu/universityhistory | Print Page