History

This page has information and links to information related to history. See Biographical Research for history of individual people. For specific time periods, places/areas, and/or topics see left-hand side for topics.

CSU History & Buildings Introduction

Colorado State University has a rich tradition and this page gives you some insight into those traditions and histories.

University and Unit Histories                                  Historic Buildings and Architecture                                   Websites

Colorado State University and Unit Histories

150 Years of University History. Vicky Lopez-Terrill.

"CSU's history as our sesquicentennial approaches. Greater details about topics are available in the Archives and Special Collections department."  Expect to discover more on this guide than presently available. Find history of the presidents; history of the library; university colleges, schools, and department history (selected). Link to historical enrollment numbers 1912-1975 (also directly here). Find more recent enrollment figures in the Student Enrollment Books 1975-76 to present; 1999-00-2009-10 academic years in the Facts at a Glance Book; and 1994-5 to current in the Fact Book.

Agricultural Frontier to Electronic Frontier: a History of Colorado State University Libraries, 1870-1995. Douglas Ernest. Z733 .C713643 .E76 Reference, Morgan, and ebook Ag in Digital Repository

Beyond the Ivory Tower: a History of Colorado State University Cooperative Extension. James E. Hansen. S544.3 .C6 H35 1991 Reference

A history into the 1980s.

Chiron's Time: A History of the College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences at Colorado State University. J. Dennis. McGuire and James E. Hansen. SF777 .M38 1983 Archives, Morgan, and Vet 

A history to the early 1980s.

A Chronology of Colorado's Land-Grant University. Office of the President. Colorado State University. Covers 1861-2009 as of July 2016.

National and state as well as university events.

Democracy's College in the Centennial State: A History of Colorado State University. James E. Hansen. LD1153 .H347 Reference and Morgan 
Covers 1870 to the mid-1970s.

Democracy's University, a History of Colorado State University, 1970-2003. James E. Hansen. LD1153 .H348 Reference, Archives, and Morgan

A History of Colorado State University 1870-1974. A History of Colorado State University 1870-1974. James E. Hansen. LD1153 .H35 1974 Archives and Morgan

Mile High College. Part 1 and Part 2. Ruth Wattles. Manuscript draft. PDF in Digital Repository.

One Hundred Years of Engineering at Colorado State University. Ann. Hilfinger and James E. Hansen. T75 .F67 H5 1989 Archives and Morgan
Covers 1889-1989.

Subscription List. Colorado Agricultural College. 1874. Handwritten.

Historic Buildings and Architecture

Around the Horn: Developing CSU’s Campus. Colorado State University's Sense of Place.

Story map. Go "around the horn" and see when and why buildings were added to the campus.

Buildings of Colorado. NA730 .C6 N64 1997 Reference

Briefly describes the campus and eight historic buildings.

Colorado State University Oval District Survey Report. LD1153 .C656 1995 Reference and eversion in the Digital Repository (PDF) 

Detailed information on 33 buildings, including architectural style, building materials, photographs, floor plans, and histories.

Colorado State University Main Campus: Ringing Grooves of Change, 1870-1973. LD1155 .A1 H35 1974 Reference and Archives 

Very brief descriptions of all campus buildings through the early 1970s.  Includes several maps.

CSU's Sense of Place : A Campus History of Colorado's Land-grant University. LD1150 .H36 2018 Morgan & Reference

Information on the buildings on Colorado State University's campus.

Urban Forest Management Plan Colorado State University Campus. SB436 .A44 1998  Archives and Morgan 

A starting point for landscape architecture, particularly urban forestry practices on campus.

Registry Numbers for Historic Buildings/Landmarks on CSU Campus, from History Colorado. Names after select registry numbers are the architect. You need to do a search after getting to the site.

  • Aggie "A" Vicinity of Road 42C, near Horsetooth Reservoir State Register 9/13/1995, 5LR.1878
  • Ammons Hall National Register 6/15/1978, 5LF.472 Eugene G. Groves
  • Botanical & Horticultural Lab (Routt Hall) National Register 9/18/1978, 5LR.471 O. Bulow
  • Civil & Irrigation Engineering Building, State Register 12/13/1995, 5LR.1960
  • Entomology Building, (L.L. Gibbons Building) State Register 12/13/1995, 5LR.1961
  • Forestry Building, (Building #81) State Register 8/11/1999, 5LR.2090 Eugene G. Groves
  • Guggenheim Hall, State Register 12/13/1995, 5LR.1962
  • Lavatory / Entomology Laboratory, (Nutrition Research Laboratory) State Register 12/13/1995, 5LR.1963
  • Library, (Laurel Hall) State Register 12/13/1995, 5LR.1964
  • Mechanical Engineering Building, (Industrial Sciences Building) State Register 12/13/1995, 5LR.1965
  • Potting Shed, (Forensics Laboratory) State Register 12/13/1995, 5LR.1966
  • Soils Building, (Vocational Education / Soils Laboratory) State Register 12/13/1995, 5LR.1967
  • Spruce Hall / Dormitory / Boarding Hall National Register 1/9/1977, 5LR.470 Hiram Pierce
  • Veterinary Medicine Building, (Building # 84, J.V.K. Wagar Building) State Register 8/11/1999, 5LR.2092 Frank W. Frewen and Earl C.Morris

Web Sites

Campus Character. Colorado State University.

"This is a fluid site aligned with both master planning efforts and the campus aesthetic guidelines to give visitors a brief overview of the architectural character of Main Campus, Colorado State University." There are "examples of architecture from five distinct eras with a photographic eye for select design details." Click on image of highlighted buildings from each era (tabbed) to see year completed and name of architect.

Architects of Colorado - Biographical Series. History Colorado. 

Of particular interest is Eugene G. Groves who designed 13 buildings at CSU. Biographical Sketch includes completion date of buildings, if known. Frank W. Frewen designed two buildings.

Building Floor Plans  (CSU Facilities Management)

Detailed floor plans for all buildings on campus.

Green Campus Walking Tour. Also CSU Green Walking Tour brochure with map in PDF.

Reused and LEED certified (or hoped to be certified) buildings are highlighted. Includes campus map. Also available is the RamTrax Campus Self-Guided Tour and The Mystery of CSU History Tour. See also the University Center of the Arts building. 

Library History.

Facts about CSU library history and buildings. See also Named Spaces within Morgan Library. 

National Register of Historic Places. National Park Services. Department of the Interior. 

Lists three CSU sites: Ammons Hall (& photo); Botanical and Horticultural laboratory (& photo); and Spruce Hall (& photo). You can also search by county, for example Larimer County, where CSU is located from within the History Colorado National & State Register of Historic Places (includes the three listed here) site.

State Register of Historic Places.

CSU sites: Entomology Building, L. L. Gibbons, Colorado Agricultural College (CSU); Guggenheim Hall, Colorado Agricultural College

Presidents at CSU

Includes both regularly appointed presidents and interim presidents.  Photographs included.

CSUPD History. A Brief Historical Review of the Colorado State University Police Department.

Overview, divided by eras, covering 1955 to the present.

CSU Rams: Athletic Traditions

History & Traditions. Colorado State Rams. Colorado State University. 

As of July 2016 links to Fum's Song; Green & Gold Student Spirit Code; Positive Impact; Student Alumni Associates; ROTC; The A; Fight Song; CAM the Ram; Jingle Keys; Ram Fans; Green Outs; Get Your Green On; CSU Marching Band; The Cannon; Rivalries; Retired numbers; I Love CSU Day; Larry LaSasso Spirit Award; Alma Mater; The Oval; Homecoming and Family Weekend; Gold Medalists; All-Americans; and Athletics Directors.

Author Information

Content: Naomi Lederer

URL: https://libguides.colostate.edu/History | Print Page