Research Guides: History: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

Below are the most commonly used databases used to locate articles for historical research.

JSTOR
Coverage: Varies
A digital library for scholars, researchers, and students. Access more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Temporary access to: JSTOR Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Jewish Studies, Lives of Literature, 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sights: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa. Ends July 1, 2021
America: History & Life
Maximum Concurrent Users: 6
Coverage: 1954 to present
Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts
Maximum Concurrent Users: 6
Coverage: 1953 to present
Bibliographic database that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada), focusing on the 15th century to the present.
Project Muse
Coverage: Varies
Full-text online access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press and other scholarly publishers. Includes literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Varies
Multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and popular articles. Includes full text, peer-reviewed journals, PDF backfiles to 1975, and searchable cited references.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science)
Coverage: 1975 to present
Included in the Web of Science Core Collection, Arts & Humanities Citation Index covers the journal literature of the arts and humanities.

Selecting and Using Keywords

An important step in the research process is to identify keywords to use in your search. Watch the video below to learn more about selecting and using keywords.

Google Scholar

If you're using Google Scholar from off-campus, click here to learn how to configure Google Scholar to work with our CSU resources.

Finding & Using Keywords in Context

Finding & Using Keywords in Context
Language changes over time and groups of people may refer to the same thing using different words. Learn how to use a variety of keywords when searching for resources! Created by UCLA Library