History

Locating Primary Sources in the Libraries Catalog

To locate primary sources in CSU Libraries, please use advanced search feature of the Libraries' catalog. In the first box, type in your topic. Remember, start broad and then narrow your search depending on your results. For example, if you were looking for primary sources related to the "Great Depression," simply type the keyword in the first box next to keyword. Then change the dropdown option in the second box to "sources" or something similar (diaries, letters, speeches, etc) and click search. 

Your results list will be limited to resources are primary sources or have primary sources in them. For example, the first result on the imagine below is a collection of primary sources. 

CSU Libraries' Archives and Special Collections

The University Archive and Special Collections at CSU Libraries provide users with a plethora pf primary source materials.

The University Archive at CSU Libraries serves as institutional memory of CSU, and collects official copies of historically significant university records, faculty papers, photograph collections, and other materials documenting university history. Click here to explore the University Archive.

Our Special Collections Unit has more than 20,000 items from antiquities to the 21st century. Subject strengths include Vietnam War literature, feminist presses, equine medicine, water, agriculture, and other topical categories. Click here to explore Special Collections. 

Ask a Librarian

Profile Photo
CSU Librarians
Ask a Research Question

Chat for Quick Help

Ask Us About:

  • Finding articles, books, & more
  • Using library resources
  • Citing your sources
Subjects: Accounting, Aerospace & Military Science, Agricultural & Resource Economics, Agricultural Biology, Agriculture (all), Agriculture & Natural Resources, Animal & Equine Science, Anthropology, Apparel & Merchandising, Art & Art History, Atmospheric Science, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, Biological & Physical Sciences, Biology, Biomedical Sciences, Business (all), Business (Company), Business (Finance), Business (Industry), Business (International), Business (Marketing), Chemistry, Citation Style Guides, Communication & Journalism, Communication Studies, Composition & Communication, Computer Science, Construction Management, Counseling & Career Development, Criminology, Dance, Design, Diversity & Inclusion, Ecology, Economics, Education, Engineering, Engineering & Math, English Language & Literature, Environmental & Radiological Health Sciences, Ethnic Studies, Family & Consumer Sciences, Fermentation Science & Technology, Film Studies, Fish, Wildlife, & Conservation Biology, Food Science & Human Nutrition, Forest & Rangeland Stewardship, Geography, Geology, Government (U.S.), Health & Exercise Science, History, Horticulture & Landscape Architecture, Hospitality & Tourism Management, Human Development & Family Studies, Human Dimensions of Natural Resources, Interdisciplinary Liberal Arts, Journalism & Media Communication, Languages, Literatures, & Cultures, Legal Studies, Library & Information Science, Mathematics, Music, Natural Resources, Occupational Therapy, Organizational Leadership & Human Resources, Philosophy & Religion, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, Public Policy & Administration, Social Sciences/Human Studies, Social Work, Sociology, Soil & Crop Sciences, Sport Management, Statistics & Data Science, Sustainability, Veterinary Medicine, Water, Women's & Gender Studies

24/7 Library Help

24/7 Library Help

Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.

URL: https://libguides.colostate.edu/History | Print Page