Research Guides: Biological Abstracts: Home

Biological Abstracts Archive

Due to budget cuts, CSU’s Biological Abstracts subscription has not been updated since January 1, 2010. Access to the

Biological Abstracts Archive (1969-2009)

is being maintained, but those seeking current, up-to-date indexing should use one of the following databases:

New Resource - July 2017

CSU has gained access to BIOSIS as part of a database package. It is recommended for all topics in biology and includes content from Biological Abstracts.

BIOSIS Citation Index
Coverage: 1926-present
Subject coverage includes traditional areas of biology like botany, zoology, and microbiology.
Related and interdisciplinary fields such as agriculture, biochemistry, bioengineering, biomedical, biophysics, biotechnology, ecology, medicine, and pharmacology are also covered.

Databases

Web of Science
Provides seamless access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.

MEDLINE (PubMed)
Coverage: Varies
Comprised of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
CAB Abstracts 1973 - present
Maximum Concurrent Users: 4
Coverage: 1973 to present
Provides access to literature in the applied life sciences, including agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, plant sciences, mycology and parasitology, food science, human health, and nutrition.
Zoological Record
Coverage: 1864-present
Coverage of the world's zoological and animal science literature, covering all research from biochemistry to veterinary medicine. Provides a collection of references from serial publications, books, meetings, reviews, and other non-serial literature. An online thesaurus of controlled terms arranged in hierarchies makes it easy to locate appropriate search terms. Scope notes and related term references are also provided.

SciFinder Scholar
Before using SciFinder Web Edition, you must register for SciFinder Web Edition

SciFinder seamlessly links scientists to more micro, molecular, and cellular biology, biomedical, and biochemical content than any publicly available source and is the only single scientific source that provides extensive links to both patents and journal literature. more
more...less...
SciFinder finds references to biomedical research using the CAplusSM and MEDLINE databases and allows you to search the largest depository of protein and nucleic acid sequences from biomedical patents and journals. This vast collection of scientific information allows you to easily explore a wide range of biological disciplines, such as:
- Genetics, proteomics, and diseases
- Biochemistry, biology, and biotechnology
- Toxicology
- Waste management
- Nutrition, food, and agricultural sciences
- Pharmacology and pharmaceutical development
It also allows you to explore research in:
- Diseases and metabolic pathways
- Biomarkers
- Gene expressions and gene therapy
- Antibodies
- Biologics
- Metabolomics
- Transciptomics
- Drug-target interactions
- Enzymes and proteins
- Small molecules
- Biotechnology
- Nucleic acids
- siRNA...and more

Alternative Databases by Subject

If you want to search the literature from . . .

Biology, try: Web of Science, PubMed, SciFinder

Botany, try:Web of Science, CAB Abstracts (1973-present) or CAB Abstracts Archive (1910-1972), Agricola

Cell Biology, try: PubMed, Web of Science, or SciFinder

Natural Resources, try: Web of Science, CAB Abstracts (1973-present) or CAB Abstracts Archive (1910-1972), Zoological Record Plus (1864-present), Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)

Taxonomy, try: Zoological Record Plus (1864-present), Web of Science

Wildlife Biology, try: Web of Science, CAB Abstracts (1973-present) or CAB Abstracts Archive (1910-1972), Zoological Record Plus (1864-present), Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide

Zoology, try: Zoological Record Plus (1864-present), Web of Science, CAB Abstracts (1973-present) or CAB Abstracts Archive (1910-1972), Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)

Questions, Comments, General Feedback

If you have questions about creaing new search strategies or concerns about the cancellation of Biological Abstracts, please contact Michelle Wilde, Michelle.Wilde@colostate.edu or 491-1860.

Questions, comments, and general feedback about the cancellation of Biological Abstracts can be referred to:

Michelle Wilde

she/her(s)

Email Me

Contact:

Morgan Library
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1019

(970) 491-1860

Subjects: Zoology

Library Help

Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.