Public Health

Official guide

AMA manual of style: a guide for authors and editors
Online 

• NLM Catalog: Journals referenced in the NCBI databases
  Use to locate official journal abbreviations for use in AMA style. Search the journal title with [jo] added to the journal name, as shown here:

  the journal of supportive oncology [jo]

  Can't locate here an abbreviation for the journal that you are citing? : use the guidance in section 14.10 of the manual, and the resources listed there, to abbreviate the journal title according to specific criteria.

AMA style insider
The official blog of the AMA Style Manual. Find answers and submit questions.

Additional guide

Citing medicine: the NLM style guide for authors, editors, and publishers. (online)

Official guide

Chicago manual of style.
Online

Additional guides

Chicago manual of style - Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL). (online)
Succinct online guide to Chicago style, with illustrative examples.

Chicago manual of style (notes system) guidance from the CSU Writing Center. (online)

Official guide

MLA handbook for writers of research papers. (print)
The complete 8th edition in paper copy, available in the library, and for loan.

Additional guides

MLA formatting and style guide - Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL). (online)
Succinct online guide to MLA style, with illustrative examples.

MLA guidance from the CSU Writing Center. (online)   

In addition to the style guides listed on this page, you may find that you need to reference the following title when citing government / legal sources:

The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation (Print copy in the Libraries)

CSU Writing Center

The CSU Writing Center provides assistance and online resources.

Theses & dissertations assistance

Thesis and dissertation CSU's Graduate School.

Literature Reviews:

• Ten Simple Rules for Writing a Literature Review (Science Focused): https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3715443/
• Literature Review Tips: http://advice.writing.utoronto.ca/types-of-writing/literature-review/
• Conducting and Writing a Literature Review: https://libguides.uwf.edu/c.php?g=215199&p=1420520

EndNote

EndNote software can help you collect and organize the reference (citation) data for the books, articles, and other resources that you use in your research. You can readily import/export to EndNote the citation data found in library databases, saving time and effort. In addition, EndNote's "cite while you write" feature allows you to easily insert into the references of your paper formatted in the style of your choice (APA, MLA, and many more).

Learn more

• Libraries EndNote guide.
• EndNote provides helpful online tutorials and webinars as well as tip sheets and comprehensive guides.

Zotero (zoh-TAIR-oh) is a free citation management tool that helps you gather, manage, cite, and share your research sources.

Use Zotero to:

• Store and organize references
• Easily capture citation information from web pages and databases
• Generate bibliographies
• Use with Word to create citations and bibliographies

 Download at https://www.zotero.org/download/

Find helpful information at https://www.zotero.org/support/, including hints on adding items and organizing your library, generating bibliographies, syncing materials, and helpful tips and tricks.