Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Studies
Gale - Virtual Reference
Gale's Virtual Reference Library is another great resource. It includes information from a variety of reference books, on topics ranging from the arts, to education, to law, and more.
Looking for books? Then you need a catalog to help you search. Below are links to the CSU catalog, our regional catalog, and the interlibrary loan service (for when you've gotta have it, but no one around here owns it!). If you can't find what you're looking for, just ask.
GLBT Library Subject Headings
Unfortunately, you can't just type in all words that make sense to you (e.g. "dykes" or "queers") to your library's computer and get a good list of books on the subject. For best results, use words that librarians use to describe things - even if the library's language is inadequate. Most periodical indexes use their own language (called a thesaurus) to describe articles. For books, the Library of Congress Subject Headings pertaining to queer-related topics include, in part:
- Gays (refers to lesbians AND gays as a group)
- Gay (as an adjective - Gay bars, Gay couples, Gay parents, etc.)
- Gay men
- Gay liberation movement
- Gays' writings
- Homosexuality (refers to the sexuality of lesbians AND gays)
- Bisexual men
- Bisexual women
- Lesbian (as an adjective - Lesbian clergy, Lesbian mothers, etc.)
- Lesbians' writings
- Afro-American lesbians
- Afro-American gays
GLBTS Reference Books
- Aldrich, Robert and Garry Wotherspoon. Who's Who in Gay and Lesbian History: from antiquity to World War II. New York: Routledge, 2001.
The name 'em and claim 'em sourcebook.
- Aldrich, Robert and Garry Wotherspoon. Who's Who in Contemporary Gayand Lesbian History. New York: Routledge, 2001.
A sourcebook featuring brief bios of writers, activists, academics, politicians.
- Cassell's Encyclopedia of Queer Myth, Symbol, and Spirit: Gay Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Lore. London: Cassell, 1997.
Popular and obscure multi-cultural mythology.
BL795 .H6C65 1997 REF
- Dynes, Wayne R. Homosexuality: A Research Guide. New York: Garland, 1987.
An extensive, annotated multi-topic bibliography including many otherwise unindexed resources.
Z7164 .S42 D96 1987
- Dynes, Wayne R. Ed., Encyclopedia of Homosexuality. New York: Garland, 1990. 2 vols.
Introductory essays, with brief bibliographies.
HQ76.25 .E53 1990 REF
- Foster, Jeanette. Sex Variant Women in Literature. Tallahassee, FL: Naiad Press, 1985.
An extensive survey of the world's literature originally published in 1956.
- Garber, Linda. Lesbian Sources: A Bibliography of Periodical Articles, 1970 - 1990. New York: Garland, 1993.
A bibliography that serves as a lesbian subject index to academic feminist and community-based lesbian publications. Contains many articles unindexed elsewhere.
Z5866.L44 G37 1993 REF
- Gay and Lesbian Literature. Vol 1 & 2. Detroit: St.James Press, 1994 & 1998.
Profiles of the best known Queer authors.
PN56 .H57 G36 REF
- Gough, Cal and Ellen Greenblatt. Gay and Lesbian Library Service. New York: McFarland, 1990.
Includes subject heading guides, core bibliographies, discographies, and filmographies.
Z711.92 .G37 1990 REF
- Haggerty, George. Gay Histories and Cultures: an encyclopedia. New York: Taylor & Francis, 2000.
Entries serve as fine topic introductions, with great bibliographies.
- Hogan, Steve and Lee Hudson. Completely Queer: The Lesbian and Gay Encyclopedia. New York: Henry Holt, 1998.
An excellent encyclopedia slanted slightly toward the East Coast.
HQ75 .H63 1998 REF
- Maggiore, Dolores. Lesbianism: An Annotated Bibliography and Guide to the Literature, 1976 - 1991. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow, 1992.
Annotates more than 500 books, articles, dissertations, and theses.
Z7164 S42 M33 1992
- Murphy, Timothy. Reader's Guide to Lesbian and Gay Studies. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2001.
Guide to academic lit on people, periods, topics.
- National Museum & Archive of Lesbian and Gay History. The Lesbian Almanac. New York: Berkeley Books, 1996.
The best of several queer almanacs, focusing exclusively on lesbians.
HQ75.6 .U5 L35 1996 REF
- Nelson, Emmanuel S., ed. Contemporary Gay American Novelists: A Bio-bibliographical Critical Sourcebook. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1993.
Includes the best known openly gay writers.
PS374 .N63 C66 1993 REF
- Pollack, Sandra, ed. Contemporary Lesbian Writers of the United States: A Bio-bibliographical Critical Sourcebook. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1993.
Features writers who published with the 1970s women's presses.
PS153 .L46 C65 1993
- Ridinger, Robert B. Marks. The Gay and Lesbian Movement: References and Resources. New York: G.K. Hall, 1996.
A bountiful annotated bibliography of books, dissertations, theses, and articles from the mainstream and gay/lesbian press.
HQ76.5 .R53 1996 REF
- Roberts, J.R. Black Lesbians: An Annotated Bibliography. Tallahassee: Naiad Press, 1981.
Dated but important historical guide to books and articles by and/or about Black lesbians in the U.S.
HQ75.6 .U5 .R6 1981
- Samar, Vincent. The Gay Rights Movement: The New York Times 20th Century in Review. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2001.
New York Times articles arranged by theme, from 1928 - 2000.
- Schlager, Neil, ed. St. James Press Gay & Lesbian Almanac. Detroit: St James Press, 1998.
HQ76.3.U5 S75 1998
- Tyukus, Michael J. ed. Gay and Lesbian Biography. Detroit: St. James Press, 1997.
A who's who of modern and contemporary gay and lesbian icons.
HQ75.2 .G39 1997 REF
- Zimmerman, Bonnie, and Geoge E. Haggerty, eds. The Encyclopedia of Lesbian and Gay Histories and Cultures, vols. 1 & 2. 2000.
Excellent coverage of people, places, ideas, and events.
HQ75.5 .L4395 2000
Chat Hours: Mondays 11:00 AM to 1:00 PM
Ask Me About
- Finding articles, books, & more
- Information creation tools
- Information literacy instruction