SOC510 - Sociological Methods: Finding Articles

Linkage of sociological theory and conceptual models; case studies; data-gathering techniques.

Literature Reviews

Annual Review of Sociology
an annual review of the primary research in Sociology

Find a specific article

Use this tool to locate a specific journal, or to find an article if you have a complete citation.

Browse Journals by Title

To search by ISSN, DOI, or PMID, visit the expanded Citation Linker.

DOI: Digital Object Identifier

Do you have a DOI number for a journal citation?

If you do and it looks like this, 10.1037/0003-066X.59.1.29

Add http://dx.doi.org/ to the beginning of the DOI to make the DOI searchable on the web.

So this example would look like:

http://dx.doi.org/10.1037/0003-066X.59.1.29

More information on the DOI system

Sociology Research Databases

These are some of the core E-Resources & Databases for Sociology that you have access to through CSU. Use them to help track down articles about your topic.

Look for the button to help you get to the full-text of articles. (Off-campus access information)

Sociological Abstracts
Coverage: 1952 to present
Indexes and abstracts the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science)
Coverage: 1900 to present
The Social Sciences Citation Index® in Web of Science™ Core Collection is a collection that delivers influential scientific research information from the 20th century. With the addition of Century of Social SciencesTM, SSCI® delivers comprehensive backfile and cited reference data from 1900 to 2009.
Social Theory
Social Theory delves into the history and evolution of social thought. Topics include sociology, economics, political science, history, anthropology, media studies, diversity studies, literature, and psychology.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Varies
Multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and popular articles. Includes full text, peer-reviewed journals, PDF backfiles to 1975, and searchable cited references.
Social Services Abstracts
Coverage: Varies
Covers literature on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development
PsycInfo
Coverage: 1887 to present
Citations and summaries in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines published in peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports.
JSTOR
Coverage: Varies
A digital library for scholars, researchers, and students. Access more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Temporary access to: JSTOR Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Jewish Studies, Lives of Literature, 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sights: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa. Ends July 1, 2021
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
Coverage: 1930 to present
Comprehensive coverage of research, policy and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development and social welfare.
PAIS International
Coverage: 1915 to present
Contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, and more chronicling global public policy and social issues.
NewsBank Access World News
Coverage: Varies
Includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. Includes fully searchable primary sources.
ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
Coverage: 1962 to present
Data archive of research in the social and behavioral sciences. Data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.