English Language & Literature

This guide has links to resources for doing literary research.

Databases Supported by Wentworth Funds

These databases are supported by English Department Wentworth funds. Click on the link to access the resource (CSU eID required).

Databases/Online Reference:

Early American Imprints: Evans 1639-1800
Coverage: 1639-1800
Sponsored By: Irene Bostrom Endowment in the CSU College of Liberal Arts and Wentworth Funds
Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the renowned bibliography by Charles Evans.
Early American Imprints: Supplement, 1670-1800
Coverage: 1670-1800
Sponsored By: Irene Bostrom Endowment in the CSU College of Liberal Arts and Wentworth Funds
From the acclaimed holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia comes a broad range of recently uncovered books, pamphlets and broadsides, etc.
Early American Newspapers
Coverage: 1823-1860
Events covered include: Second Great Awakening, Lowell Textile Mills, Monroe Doctrine, Trail of Tears, Indian Removal, Height of Plantation Slavery, California Gold Rush, Dred Scott decision, Mexican War.
Independent Voices
Coverage: Varies
Sponsored By: CSU Department of English Wentworth Funds
Collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Iter Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance
Coverage: Varies
Sponsored By: CSU Department of English Wentworth Funds
Used in learning, and in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
Women Writers Online
Coverage: 1526 to 1850
Sponsored By: CSU Department of English Wentworth Funds
A full-text collection of early women’s writing in English. Full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, a wide range of genres and topics, providing a view of women’s literate culture in the early modern period. Introductory essays written by contemporary scholars about Renaissance women writers, their texts, and related topics.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
Coverage: 1960 to present
Sponsored By: CSU Department of English Wentworth Funds
Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced between 1960 and the present.