Research Guides: CIVE302 Library Guide: Standards

Standards

GETTING STANDARDS THE LIBRARY DOES NOT HAVE

If the Libraries do not have the standards you need, you may order them through InterLibrary Loan (ILL).

There is a “Standards” request option on the ILL Request Form. You will need to provide the title, agency, year, and any other information that may help the ILL department find the standard.

Sources for Full Text of Standards

ASTM Standards via ASTM Compass
The American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
Please use Firefox when accessing ASTM Compass and ASTM Journals from off campus.

Annual Book of ASTM Standards (print)
TA 401 .A653 Bound Journals (1970-2009)

ASABE Technical Library (American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers)
Coverage: 2001 to present
Provides access to all recent technical documents and journals published by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers.

American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. (print)
S671 .A32. Morgan
Vol. 31-48, 1984-2001, online only 2001-

IEEE Standards Online
Coverage: 1890 to present
Contains definitions of terms, and testing procedures, as well as standards for electrical engineering.

NFPA1, Fire Code
TH 9111 .N47 REF (2008- )
These volumes are located in the Reference area on the first floor of Morgan Library.

SAE Digital Library
Coverage: varies
Collection of engineering standards, news, and insights — designed by and exclusively for the ground vehicle and aerospace mobility industry. Includes Standards, technical papers, journal articles, magazines, and e-books.

Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
Do a Keyword search in the library catalog (Sage) on ASCE and standard.

If you have questions about the materials and services mentioned in this guide or questions about anything having to do with the library system at Colorado State, feel free to contact the subject liaison listed to the right.

Other Standards

There are a variety of organizations that develop and maintain standards.

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) has an online standards store that can be searched to find the standards information from over 180 standards publishers, including standards from ISO (International Organization for Standardization). This is a for profit website, so it is a great place to find citations for a variety of standards, but if you want the actual document, we encourage you to check the CSU Libraries for the full text standard or to order a copy of a standard through ILL if needed.

Search the ANSI eStandards Store (http://webstore.ansi.org/)

Library Help

Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.