Research Guides: Engineering: Find Standards

Standards

Availability through ILLiad

CSU students, faculty and staff can obtain full text of standards not on the list below through the Library's ILLiad (Interlibrary Loan) system. Under Request Types select the "Request a Standards Document" button.

Useful for all Engineering Disciplines

ASTM Standards via ASTM Compass
The American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
Please use Firefox when accessing ASTM Compass and ASTM Journals from off campus.

Annual Book of ASTM Standards (print)
TA 401 .A653 Bound Journals (1970-2009)
Index and Directory of Industry Standards
T 59.2 .U6I53 MORGAN (-2001)
Contains subject and numeric indexes to engineering standards.

Chemical & Biological Engineering

ASABE Technical Library (American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers)
Coverage: 2001 to present
Provides access to all recent technical documents and journals published by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers.

American Society of Agricultural Engineers (print)
S671 .A32. Morgan
Vol. 31-48, 1984-2001, online only 2001-

Civil & Environmental Engineering

Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
Do a Keyword search in the library catalog (Primo) on ASCE and standard.
NFPA1, Fire Code
TH 9111 .N47 REF (2008- )
These volumes are located in the Reference area on the first floor of Morgan Library.

Electrical & Computer Engineering

IEEE Xplore
Coverage: 1884 to present
Provides full text access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
IEEE Standards Online
Coverage: 1890 to present
Contains definitions of terms, and testing procedures, as well as standards for electrical engineering.

IEEE Standards (print)
TK 275 .I5 Morgan
See record for available print volumes.

Mechanical Engineering

SAE Digital Library
Coverage: varies
Collection of engineering standards, news, and insights — designed by and exclusively for the ground vehicle and aerospace mobility industry. Includes Standards, technical papers, journal articles, magazines, and e-books.

SAE Handbook (Society of Automotive Engineers)
TL 240 .S3 MORGAN (1952-2005) and ELEC MEDIA (2006-2010)
These volumes contain SAE automotive standards.

ANSI University Outreach Program

According to ANSI, "Incorporating standards into a university curriculum provides an excellent introduction to the impact of standardization on the marketplace and gives students a competitive edge when entering the workforce." As such, ANSI has been authorized to provide, upon request, complimentary access for students and faculty to selected standards currently available in the ISO collection for use in the classroom. More information about this program can be found at https://www.ansi.org/education_trainings/university_outreach?menuid=9.