Research Guides: Engineering: Find Articles and Conference Proceedings by Subject

Library Databases

Using "FindIt @ CSU" when searching databases:

If you see the above icon next to an article you are searching for, click on it to see if there is an electronic version of the journal or magazine available in another database. You will be taken to a screen which will show options for obtaining the article whether it be here at CSU or through ILL (InterLibrary Loan).

Useful for all Engineering Disciplines

Compendex/Engineering Village
Most comprehensive index of articles on engineering topics published in peer reviewed and trade journals. Covers U.S. and international journals. Also covers proceedings papers presented at engineering professional conferences. Uses a sophisticated search engine that provides for searching by topic and other parameters at multiple levels. Provides the capability for setting up search alerts.
Web of Science
Offers multidisciplinary access back to 1900 to articles in the highest impact research journals. Also provides searching and analysis of citation patterns.

Atmospheric Science

Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts
Coverage: 1974 to present
Contains records drawn from the world's literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences.

Atmospheric Science Papers (Blue Books)
Coverage: 1959 to present
Collection of research papers by the Department of Atmospheric Sciences at Colorado State University.

Biomedical Engineering

PubMed (National Library of Medicine)
Coverage: 1950 to present
Provides access to bibliographic citations and abstracts for clinical medical literature.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Coverage: 1809 to present
Provides full-text for many of the most-used biomedical and health journals, containing citations and abstracts used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians, and researchers.

Chemical & Biological Engineering

Scifinder-n
Coverage: 1907 to present
This is a sophisticated search engine for the literature of chemistry. Includes searching on chemical bonds, structures, reactions and citations to international patents.
SpringerMaterials
Coverage: Varies
SpringerMaterials provides curated data and advanced functionalities to support research in materials science, physics, chemistry, engineering, and other related fields.

Civil & Environmental Engineering

ASCE Library
The ASCE Library is the world’s largest full-text database of civil engineering research and practical publications. It offers unprecedented online access to more than 145,000 technical and professional papers—1.5 million pages of content. More than 7,000 papers are added annually.

Civil Engineering Database
Coverage: 1970 to present
Provides indexing and access to online journal articles and conference papers published by the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE).
SAE Digital Library
Coverage: varies
Collection of engineering standards, news, and insights — designed by and exclusively for the ground vehicle and aerospace mobility industry. Includes Standards, technical papers, journal articles, magazines, and e-books.
Water Resources Abstracts
Coverage: 1967 to present
Includes indexing and access to journal articles and conference papers focusing in-depth on water related topics.
Standard Methods for the Examination of Water and Wastewater
Coverage: 2017 to present
A “comprehensive reference . . . of accurate, proven methodology for analysis of water, water supplies, and wastewater.”

Electrical & Computer Engineering

IEEE Xplore
Coverage: 1884 to present
Provides full text access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
ACM Digital Library
Coverage: Varies
Full text of every article published by the Association for Computing Machinery.

Matererials Science (Advanced Materials Discovery)

SpringerMaterials
Coverage: Varies
SpringerMaterials provides curated data and advanced functionalities to support research in materials science, physics, chemistry, engineering, and other related fields.

Mechanical Engineering

ASME Digital Collection
ASME’s authoritative, online reference of current and archival literature. It provides peer-reviewed content including journals, conference proceedings and ASME Press books.

SAE Digital Library
Coverage: varies
Collection of engineering standards, news, and insights — designed by and exclusively for the ground vehicle and aerospace mobility industry. Includes Standards, technical papers, journal articles, magazines, and e-books.

Systems Engineering

IEEE Xplore
Coverage: 1884 to present
Provides full text access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
ACM Digital Library
Coverage: Varies
Full text of every article published by the Association for Computing Machinery.