CO130 - Academic Writing

Online Resources

The Library is here to help you with your research! Currently, the building is closed, but below is some information on accessing key research resources.

Online Library Instruction

The following videos and guided worksheet will walk you through some information you need to get started with your research assignments. Captioned versions of the videos are available in the descriptions (see links).

Video 1: Popular and Scholarly Sources

This video contains a brief overview of the differences between peer-reviewed and popular articles, with examples. The video can be viewed full-screen on YouTube and has captions available. It is also available in Echo360 here.

After watching the above video, please read the section of the worksheet called, "Peer-reviewed and Popular Articles" and answer the discussion question.

Video 2: Picking Your Topic IS Research

This is a quick video that will give you some tips on picking a manageable search topic. It can be viewed full-screen on YouTube and has captions available.

Video 2: Searching the Databases

This video contains a brief overview of strategies to search the library's databases, limit your results to relevant articles, and find/get the full-text of what you find. The video can be viewed full-screen on YouTube and has captions available. It is also available in Echo360 here.

After watching "Picking Your Topic IS Research" and "Searching the Databases," please complete the section of the worksheet titled, "Searching the Databases for Articles."

CSU Library Information

CSU Library Services

This video contains an overview of library resources you may need for your assignment. Since you may not be able to visit the library building this term, it also shows places in the building.

This video has captioning and can be viewed full-screen on YouTube.

Questions?

If you have questions, please contact your CO130 Librarian (Kristy Nowak, kristy.nowak@colostate.edu) or see the Libraries' Ask Us! page for all the available help options, including our 24/7 chat box.

Librarian

Kristy Nowak's picture
Kristy Nowak
chat loading...
Contact:
I am available to help you virtually! Please contact me by e-mail, chat (chat will say "Available" when online), or set up a virtual appointment above!

E-mail: kristy.nowak@colostate.edu
Office Hours calendar: https://libguides.colostate.edu/kristynowak

24/7 Library Help

24/7 Library Help

Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.

URL: https://libguides.colostate.edu/co130 | Print Page