English Language & Literature

This guide has links to resources for doing literary research. Some give general research advice and others are specific to an author or subject.

Language Research Topics

There are many influences upon language. Subject terms used in recommended reference sources for the issues listed below are provided under each topic. However, keep in mind that there are additional terms that you will want to try and that you will need to combine concepts in many of the databases or be overwhelmed with search results. Try to narrow your searches so that you are looking at smaller sets (of under 75). Some terms listed under one issue may be useful in others, so you might want to look under more than one of these for ideas.

With the exception of materials identified in the library catalog when you have the call number and location immediately available, you will need to use the library catalog (or the Citation Finder) to find out if Colorado State University Libraries owns the articles and books you have identified. If the Libraries do not own the items, you might decide to request them from Interlibrary Loan (CSU affiliates only).

When searching for books owned by CSU in the library catalog, be sure to change the default search ("almost everything") to "Books and More" or your search will return massive numbers of irrelevant and not-owned by CSU results. The library catalog terms identified here also work in Prospector, the Colorado Union Catalog.

CSU affiliates may request circulating books from Prospector. Non-affiliate in Fort Collins? Borrow from Prospector by using your Poudre River Public Library card and have materials sent to the public library branch (Old Town, Harmony, or Council Tree) of your choice.

Double Talk, Euphemisms, & Professional Jargon

This section gives recommendations of resources to use and the terms to search in them for topics related to double talk, doublespeak, euphemisms, and professional jargon.

Search the library catalog using:

  • Americanisms
  • English language euphemism
  • English language euphemism - dictionaries
  • English language jargon
  • Jargon (terminology)

Search Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (AI 3 .R48 REF--Index) using:

  • jargon
  • euphemisms
  • computers--terminology
  • education--terminology
  • internet--terminology
  • law--terminology
  • politically correct movement
  • politics--terminology
  • Watergate case terminology
  • Clinton, Bill 1946- White House sex scandal--terminology

Search Academic Search Premier using:

  • double talk
  • euphemism (SU subject search)
  • euphemisms
  • jargon
  • jargon (terminology)
  • terms & phrases
  • vocabulary
  • medicine terminology
  • science terminology
  • literature terminology
  • psychiatry terminology
  • computer systems terminology
  • business terminology
  • law terminology
  • biology terminology
  • information technology terminology
  • electronics terminology
  • geography terminology
  • mental retardation terminology
  • economics terminology
  • finance terminology

Search Business Source Complete using:

  • English language -- Jargon
  • euphemism
  • slang
  • cliches
  • terms & phrases (note: add additional words to this search)
  • doublespeak [Note: search this term in default field]
  • double talk [Note: search this term in default field]

Search Communication & Mass Media Complete using:

  • euphemism
  • terminology
  • malapropisms
  • jargon (terminology)
  • medicine terminology
  • business terminology
  • terms & phrases
  • telecommunication terminology
  • computers terminology

Search New York Times 1851-2001 (The Historical New York Times) using (sort large search results by relevance):

  • doublespeak and language
  • jargon and language
  • doubletalk and language
  • politically correct and language
  • euphemisms and language
  • political and language

Be certain to combine terms in the databases below to find more precisely what you need. Also, you don't want to be searching through large sets of search results. See Advanced Searching Tips for suggestions.

Search Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts using:

  • euphemism
  • professional language
  • vocabulary
  • euphemisms
  • doublespeak
  • double talk
  • jargon
  • scientific terminology

Search ERIC using:

  • consumer education
  • jargon
  • doublespeak
  • language usage
  • euphemism
  • vocabulary

Search MLA Bibliography using:

  • euphemism
  • relationship to euphemism
  • doublespeak
  • jargon

You may want to limit "jargon" results to sources in English (unless you can read German).

Reference books with examples of jargon and euphemisms (some in stacks [Morgan]):

  • A Dictionary of Euphemisms PE 1691 .H6 1995 Morgan
  • Dictionary of Jargon PE 1689 .G73 1987 Reference)
  • The Faber Dictionary of Euphemisms PE 1691 .H65 1989 Morgan
  • How Not to Say What You Mean: A Dictionary of Euphemisms PE1449 .H548 2007 Reference
  • Kind Words: A Thesaurus of Euphemisms PE 1449 .N34 1990 Reference
  • Rawson's Dictionary of Euphemisms and Other Doubletalk: Being a Compilation of Linguistic Fig Leaves and Verbal Flourishes for Artful Users of the English Language PE 1449 .R34 1995 Reference

Non-reference books of interest:

  • Business Bull**** [actual title spells the word out]. 2018. BBebook online (available to CSU affiliates)
  • Doublespeak: From "Revenue Enhancement" to "Terminal Living": How Government, Business, Advertisers, and Others Use Language to Deceive You. 2015. DFRETTLebook online (available to CSU affiliates)
  • Lies We Live By: Defeating Double-Talk and Deception in Advertising, Politics, and the Media. BF637 .D42 H68 2000 Morgan
  • Post-Truth Rhetoric and Composition. 2017. PTRCebook online (available to CSU affiliates)
  • Talk Normal: Stop the Business Speak, Jargon, and Waffle. (Requested for purchase.)

Be sure to evaluate the sources you find. Use How to Evaluate Books and How to Evaluate Articles for suggestions of things to examine.

Note: CSU no longer subscribes to the indexes listed below, but the terms should work if your library has them:

Search Article First using:

  • euphemisms
  • jargon
  • doublespeak

Search ABI/Inform using:

  • euphemisms
  • euphemisms and language
  • jargon

Search Electric Library using:

  • euphemisms
  • jargon
  • double talk
  • doublespeak

Search Humanities Abstracts using:

  • English language--Euphemism
  • euphemisms
  • doublespeak

Search Humanities Index International using:

  • euphemism
  • terms & phrases
  • double talk [Note: search this term in default field]
  • jargon (terminology)

Search Newspaper Abstracts using:

  • jargon and language

Search Periodical Abstracts using:

  • euphemisms
  • language and jargon
  • doublespeak

Search Political Science via IBSS using:

  • slang-

Search Readers' Guide Abstracts using:

  • jargon
  • euphemisms
  • terminology
  • art terminology
  • computers terminology
  • education terminology
  • internet terminology
  • law terminology
  • military art and science terminology
  • nature terminology
  • politically correct movement
  • politics terminology
  • Watergate case terminology
  • White House sex scandal terminology

Search Wilson Select using:

  • euphemisms
  • jargon
  • truthfulness and falsehood
  • business terminology
  • computers terminology
  • education terminology
  • food terminology
  • internet terminology
  • journalism terminology
  • kinship terminology
  • law terminology
  • mathematics terminology
  • meteorology terminology
  • public relations terminology
  • religion terminology
  • White House sex scandal terminology

Language & Advertising

This section gives recommendations of resources to use and the terms to search in them for topics related to language and advertising.

Search the library catalog using:

  • Advertising language

Search Academic Search Premier using:

  • language and advertising
  • target marketing
  • advertising campaigns

Be certain to combine terms in the databases below to find more precisely what you need. Also, you don't want to be searching through large sets of search results. See Advanced Searching Tips for suggestions.

Search Business Source Complete using:

  • Advertising
  • Cognition
  • Content analysis (Communication)
  • Internet advertising
  • Language & emotions
  • Language & languages
  • Marketing strategy
  • Persuasion (Psychology)
  • Public relations
  • Vocabulary

Search Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts using:

  • advertising language
  • advertisement and language
  • advertising and language
  • language use and advertising

Search MLA Bibliography (Modern Language Association) using:

  • advertising-language

Search ERIC using:

  • advertising
  • language arts
  • audience response
  • persuasive discourse
  • consumer education
  • television commercials

Be sure to evaluate the sources you find. Use How to Evaluate Books and How to Evaluate Articles for suggestions of things to examine.

Note: CSU no longer subscribes to the indexes listed below, but the terms should work if your library has them:

Search ABI/Inform using:

  • language and advertising and communication
  • words and advertising and consumer behavior
  • radio advertising
  • advertising
  • advertising media

Search Article First using:

  • language and advertising

Search Periodical Abstracts using:

  • language and advertising

Language & Community

This section gives recommendations of resources to use and the terms to search in them for topics related to language and community (e.g. how language may vary from community to community, how language determines a community, etc.).

Search Academic Search Premier using:

  • language community
  • language policy
  • speech communities
  • dialectology

Be certain to combine terms in the databases below to find more precisely what you need. Also, you don't want to be searching through large sets of search results. See Advanced Searching Tips for suggestions.

Search PsycINFO using:

  • Language
  • Communities

Search Linguistics " Language Behavior Abstracts using:

  • language socialization

Search MLA Bibliography using:

  • sociolinguistics
  • language-interaction
  • language-policy
  • language
  • bilingualism
  • minority language
  • speech-community
  • social-dialects

Search ERIC using:

  • community involvement
  • English-second-language
  • parents
  • community education
  • second language learning
  • second language instruction

Be sure to evaluate the sources you find. Use How to Evaluate Books and How to Evaluate Articles for suggestions of things to examine.

Note: CSU no longer subscribes to the indexes listed below, but the terms should work if your library has them:

Search Black Studies using:

  • Black English
  • Black English social aspects
  • Black English Southern States
  • Black English California urban
  • English language in the United States Dialects
  • English language in the United States Afro-American teenagers California San Diego language
  • English language study and teaching Afro-American students
  • codeswitching
  • communication
  • dialects
  • sociolinguistics
  • urban dialects
  • English language dialects California
  • Afro-Americans language
  • languages in contact

Search Electric Library using:

  • community language
  • speech community
  • black english and communities and language
  • people speaking and dialect

Language & Cultural Identity

This section gives recommendations of resources to use and the terms to search in them for topics related to language and cultural identity.

Search the library catalog using:

  • Communication and culture
  • Language and culture

Search Academic Search Premier using:

  • nationalism and language
  • language and cultural identity
  • colonization and language

Be certain to combine terms in the databases below to find more precisely what you need. Also, you don't want to be searching through large sets of search results. See Advanced Searching Tips for suggestions.

Search Business Source Complete using:

  • Communication & culture
  • Cultural identity
  • Cross-cultural communication
  • Indigenous peoples
  • Language & languages
  • Languages in contact
  • Linguistic rights
  • Social media & society

Search Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts using:

  • language and culture
  • language culture relationship
  • language maintenance
  • language status
  • minority languages

Search MLA Bibliography (Modern Language Association) using:

  • cultural identity
  • [English/French/Spanish]-language-Modern

Note: CSU no longer subscribes to the index listed below, but the terms should work if your library has it:

Search Article First using:

  • language and identity

Language & Culture

This section gives recommendations of resources to use and the terms to search in them for topics related to language and culture. (How language influences culture, how culture influences language, effects of immigrants, assimilation, etc.)

Books, in call number ranges P 27- P35

Search the library catalog using:

  • Language and culture

Search Education Index (print) using:

  • cultural differences
  • acculturation
  • language and culture
  • intercultural communication

Search Social Sciences Index (print) using:

  • language and culture

Search Academic Search Premier using:

  • biculturalism
  • language & culture
  • multilingual persons
  • multilingualism
  • intercultural communication
  • acculturation
  • assimilation and language

Be certain to combine terms in the databases below to find more precisely what you need. Also, you don't want to be searching through large sets of search results. See Advanced Searching Tips for suggestions.

Search PsycINFO using:

  • Cross cultural differences
  • Language
  • Sociolinguistics
  • Sociocultural factors

Search Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts using:

  • language and culture

Search PAIS using:

  • [language: French, Spanish, English, etc.] language
  • [country: France, Mexico] culture
  • assimilation sociology
  • plural societies

Search Chicano Database (1992-1998) using:

  • language arts
  • cultural characteristics
  • language
  • culture
  • identity
  • Chicano dialects
  • self-referent
  • language usage
  • assimilation
  • stereotypes
  • discrimination
  • Sociolinguistics
  • English as a second language
  • acculturation
  • intergroup relations
  • intercultural communication
  • Spanish language

Search MLA Bibliography using:

  • language
  • culture
  • language-policy
  • Sociolinguistics

Hyphens (-) in MLA Bibliography do make a difference to your search results.

Search Family and Society Studies Worldwide using:

  • language development
  • family culture
  • families
  • ethnic groups
  • acculturation
  • adaption
  • cultural sensitivity
  • communication
  • culture
  • cultural identity
  • transnational families

Note: CSU no longer subscribes to the index listed below, but the terms should work if your library has it:

Search Black Studies using:

  • Sociolinguistics
  • language and culture

Language & Gender

This section gives recommendations of resources to use and the terms to search in them for topics related to language and gender (e.g. media images, women's language, men's language, inappropriate humor directed at males or females).

Books, in call number ranges P 40, P 120

Search the library catalog using:

  • Communication Sex differences
  • Language and Languages Sex differences
  • English language gender

Search Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (print) using:

  • sex differences
  • sex discrimination in advertising
  • sex discrimination in language
  • sexist slurs

Search Business Periodicals Index (print) using:

  • sex in advertising
  • sex differences
  • sexism in advertisements
  • sexism in language

Search Education Index (print) using:

  • sex discrimination in language

Search Academic Search Premier using:

  • sexism in communication
  • language and gender
  • gender identity
  • language
  • interpersonal communication
  • interpersonal communication sex differences
  • sex differences and language

Be certain to combine terms in the database below to find more precisely what you need. Also, you don't want to be searching through large sets of search results. See Advanced Searching Tips for suggestions.

Search Business Source Complete using:

  • Businesspeople
  • Businesswomen
  • Entrepreneurship
  • Gender
  • Language & Languages
  • Sex discrimination
  • Social constructionism
  • Stereotypes (Social psychology)

Search PsycINFO using:

  • Human sex differences
  • Interpersonal communication
  • oral communication
  • mass media
  • verbal communication
  • printed communications media
  • communications media

Search Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts using:

  • language
  • gender

Be sure to evaluate the sources you find. Use How to Evaluate Books and How to Evaluate Articles for suggestions of things to examine.

Note: CSU no longer subscribes to the indexes listed below, but the terms should work if your library has them:

Search ABI/Inform using:

  • language and sexes
  • communication and sexes
  • sex roles

Search Periodical Abstracts using:

  • language and sexes
  • communication and sexes
  • sex roles and communication

Language & Literacy

This section gives recommendations of resources to use and the terms to search in them for topics related to language and literacy.

Search the library catalog using:

  • Language Arts
  • Literacy
  • Reading

Search Academic Search Premier using:

  • language and literacy
  • language arts
  • reading
  • literacy

Be certain to combine terms in the databases below to find more precisely what you need. Also, you don't want to be searching through large sets of search results. See Advanced Searching Tips for suggestions.

Search PsycINFO using:

  • Language arts education
  • Reading skills
  • Literacy
  • Writing skills
  • Reading education

Search Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts using:

  • Early Literacy
  • Literacy
  • Language acquisition
  • Reading Ability
  • Language learning

Search MLA Bibliography (Modern Language Association) using:

  • development of language
  • literacy development
  • language
  • reading
  • literacy
  • relationship to literacy
  • language interaction
  • writing
  • teaching of language

Search Education Index (print) using:

  • English language teaching
  • reading-teaching
  • language arts
  • language arts - teaching

Search ERIC using:

  • Adult literacy
  • Family literacy
  • Literacy education
  • English instruction
  • Language arts
  • Parent influence
  • Emergent literacy
  • Literacy
  • Parent Role

Be sure to evaluate the sources you find. Use How to Evaluate Books and How to Evaluate Articles for suggestions of things to examine.

Note: CSU no longer subscribes to the indexes listed below, but the terms should work if your library has them:

Search Article First using:

  • language and literacy

Search ABI/Inform using:

  • literacy
  • language
  • communication

Search Periodical Abstracts using:

  • literacy
  • language
  • reading

Language & Power

This section gives recommendations of resources to use and the terms to search in them for topics related to language and power. These terms focus on some aspect of power and language (e.g. who has control over discourse, what language aspects determine who has power in a relationship or conversation, how is language used for political power, "English only" laws, language policy, etc.).

Books, in call number ranges P 95 (political, media)

Search the library catalog using:

  • language and power

Search Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (print index) using:

  • Power (Social Sciences)
  • Communication (Social Aspects)
  • English Language

Search Business Periodicals Index (print index) using:

  • English-only rules in the workplace
  • English Language

Search Social Sciences Index (print index) using:

  • Language Policy
  • Communication in politics
  • Power (Social Sciences)

Search Academic Search Premier using:

  • language policy
  • power (social sciences)
  • language and political power
  • language policy and nationalism
  • English only
  • linguistic minorities

Be certain to combine terms in the databases below to find more precisely what you need. Also, you don't want to be searching through large sets of search results. See Advanced Searching Tips for suggestions.

Search Business Source Complete using:

  • Interpersonal relations
  • Language & languages
  • Political communication
  • Power (Social sciences)
  • Social interaction

Search PsycINFO using:

  • Interpersonal interaction
  • Language
  • Power
  • Sociolinguistics
  • Politics

Search Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts using:

  • language
  • power
  • policy

Search Social Science Abstracts using:

  • Language policy
  • Communicaion in politics
  • Power social sciences

Be sure to evaluate the sources you find. Use How to Evaluate Books and How to Evaluate Articles for suggestions of things to examine.

Note: CSU no longer subscribes to the indexes listed below, but the terms should work if your library has them:

Search Periodical Abstracts using:

  • Communication
  • English Language
  • Language
  • Language policy
  • Nationalism
  • Power
  • minority & ethnic groups

Search Readers' Guide Abstracts using:

  • Power social sciences
  • Communication social aspects

Language & Sexism

This section gives recommendations of resources to use and the terms to search in them for topics related to language and sexism.

Search the library catalog using:

  • Language and languages - sex differences
  • Men - language

Search Academic Search Premier using:

  • language
  • sexism
  • English language sex differences
  • sexism in language usage
  • sexist language

Be certain to combine terms in the databases below to find more precisely what you need. Also, you don't want to be searching through large sets of search results. See Advanced Searching Tips for suggestions.

Search Business Source Complete using:

  • Attitude (Psychology)
  • Gender
  • Language & gender
  • Language & languages
  • Manipulative behavior
  • Nouns (Grammar)
  • Nonsexist language
  • Sexism
  • Sexism in language
  • Sexual objectification

Search PsycINFO using:

  • language
  • sexism

Search Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts using:

  • Language patterns
  • sexism and language usage
  • Language usage
  • sexist language
  • sexism

Search ERIC using:

  • Language styles
  • sex role
  • Language usage
  • sex stereotypes
  • sex bias
  • sexism in language

Search MLA (Modern Language Bibliography) using:

  • sexist language

Be sure to evaluate the sources you find. Use How to Evaluate Books and How to Evaluate Articles for suggestions of things to examine.

Note: CSU no longer subscribes to the indexes listed below, but the terms should work if your library has them:

Search ABI/Inform using:

  • language
  • discrimination
  • writing
  • sex discrimination

Search Periodical Abstracts using:

  • language
  • sexism
  • sexes

Language & the Media

This section gives recommendations of resources to use and the terms to search in them for topics related to language and the media.

Search the library catalog using:

  • Mass media and language

Search Academic Search Premier using:

  • newspapers
  • language
  • ethnic mass media
  • newspapers language
  • radio broadcasting
  • radio programs
  • English language

Be certain to combine terms in the databases below to find more precisely what you need. Also, you don't want to be searching through large sets of search results. See Advanced Searching Tips for suggestions.

Search Business Source Complete using:

  • Collective memory
  • Communication
  • Crisis communication
  • Disinformation
  • False news (social media)
  • Frames (Social sciences)
  • Information resources
  • Jargon (Terminology)
  • Language & languages
  • Linguistic analysis (Linguistics)
  • Mass media
  • Mass media & democracy
  • Newsworthiness
  • Social media
  • Social media & politics
  • Social responsibility

Search Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts using:

  • mass media
  • newspapers

Search MLA Bibliography (Modern Language Association) using:

  • journalism-
  • newspaper-language
  • tabloids
  • language-
  • periodicals
  • television
  • mass-media
  • radio

Search Communication & Mass Media Complete using:

  • mass media
  • mass media & language
  • language & languages
  • communication
  • journalism
  • newspapers
  • press
  • journalists
  • social media
  • internet
  • digital media
  • websites
  • radio broadcasting
  • television
  • blogs

Search ERIC using:

  • mass media role
  • media research
  • newspapers

Be sure to evaluate the sources you find. Use How to Evaluate Books and How to Evaluate Articles for suggestions of things to examine.

Note: CSU no longer subscribes to the indexes listed below, but the terms should work if your library has them:

Search Article First using:

  • language and media

Search Electric Library using:

  • language and media
  • language and radio
  • language and television

Language of Politics

This section gives recommendations of resources to use and the terms to search in them for topics related to language and politics.

Search the library catalog using:

  • English language - standardization
  • Language and Languages - political aspects
  • Press and politics
  • Standard language

Search Academic Search Premier using:

  • language and politics
  • politics and literature
  • language of politics
  • English language government jargon
  • political science terminology
  • politics and government
  • political oratory
  • terms & phrases
  • language usage
Be certain to combine terms in the databases below to find more precisely what you need. Also, you don't want to be searching through large sets of search results. See Advanced Searching Tips for suggestions.

Search Business Source Complete using:

  • Communication & politics
  • Deception
  • Language & languages
  • Language & languages -- Political aspects
  • Language policy -- Social aspects
  • Mass media -- Political aspects
  • Nonverbal communication
  • Political parties
  • Politicians
  • Political attitudes
  • Political oratory
  • Power (Social sciences)
  • Practical politics
  • Public relations
  • Rhetoric & politics
  • Terms & phrases

Search Linguistics " Language Behavior Abstracts using:

  • language planning
  • language status
  • political discourse
  • language policy
  • national languages
  • language rights
  • official languages

Search MLA Bibliography (Modern Language Association) using:

  • language
  • politics and language
  • relationship to politics

Search ERIC using:

  • propaganda

Be sure to evaluate the sources you find. Use How to Evaluate Books and How to Evaluate Articles for suggestions of things to examine.

Note: CSU no longer subscribes to the index listed below, but the terms should work if your library has it:

Search Article First using:

  • language and politics

Search Electric Library using:

  • language and politics
  • political communication
  • political aspects of language
  • political discourse
  • official language
  • language policy

Search Periodical Abstracts using:

  • English Language
  • politics

Language & Technology

This section gives recommendations of resources to use and the terms to search in them for topics related to language and technology.

Search the library catalog using:

  • Communication and culture
  • Technology - language

Search Academic Search Premier using:

  • educational technology
  • language and languages study & teaching
  • computer assisted instruction
  • internet in education
  • academic writing
  • language
  • writing
  • e-mail
  • computers in education
  • web-based instruction
  • distance education
  • instructional systems
  • computer software
  • online courses

Be certain to combine terms in the databases below to find more precisely what you need. Also, you don't want to be searching through large sets of search results. See Advanced Searching Tips for suggestions.

Search Business Source Complete using:

  • Algorithms
  • Authorship
  • Computer input-output equipment
  • Confidence intervals
  • Data mining
  • Electronic publications
  • Information retrieval
  • Language & languages
  • Language & languages -- Software
  • Natural language processing (Computer science)
  • Search engines
  • Sex discrimination [note: see also Language and Gender]
  • Social media
  • Translating services
  • Translators

Search Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts using:

  • academic writing
  • writing processes
  • language teaching methods
  • technology impact

Search ERIC using:

  • Communicative competence (Languages)
  • Computer literacy
  • Computer users
  • Information technology
  • Internet
  • Language usage
  • Technological literacy
  • Computer-assisted instruction
  • Computer use
  • Educational technology
  • Instructional materials
  • Language arts
  • Learning process
  • writing instruction

Be sure to evaluate the sources you find. Use How to Evaluate Books and How to Evaluate Articles for suggestions of things to examine.

Note: CSU no longer subscribes to the indexes listed below, but the terms should work if your library has them:

Search ABI/Inform using:

  • electronic mail systems
  • interpersonal communication

Offensive Language & Free Speech

This section gives recommendations of resources to use and the terms to search in them for topics related to Offensive Language & Free Speech (Political Correctness).

Search the library catalog using:

  • censorship
  • freedom of speech
  • freedom of the press
  • hate speech
  • hate speech-United States
  • racism in language

Search Academic Search Premier using:

  • academic freedom
  • censorship
  • freedom of speech
  • freedom of the press
  • hate speech
  • obscenity
  • offensive language
  • political correctness
  • profanity
  • racism in language
  • swearing

Search Communication & Mass Media Complete using:

  • censorship
  • expressive language
  • freedom of speech
  • freedom of the press
  • libel & slander
  • political correctness
  • swearing
  • taboo, linguistic
  • words, obscene

Be certain to combine terms in the databases below to find more precisely what you need. Also, you don't want to be searching through large sets of search results. See Advanced Searching Tips for suggestions.

Search Business Source Complete using:

  • Connotation (Linguistics)
  • Heterosexuals
  • Homosexuality
  • Interpersonal communication
  • Language & languages
  • Lexicon (Linguistics)
  • Linguistic usage
  • Minorities
  • Political correctness
  • Racism in language
  • Sexism in language
  • Social movements
  • Social norms
  • Stereotypes (Social psychology)
  • Swearing (Profanity)
  • Terms & phrases

Search Ethnic Newswatch, using:

  • censorship
  • freedom of speech
  • hate speech
  • political correctness

Search Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts using:

  • free speech
  • freedom of speech
  • language usage
  • obscenities

Search ERIC using:

  • academic freedom
  • attitudes
  • censorship
  • freedom of speech
  • hate speech
  • language patterns
  • language usage
  • moral issues
  • obscenity
  • offensive speech
  • political correctness
  • politically correct communication
  • profanity
  • racial bias
  • speech habits
  • verbal abuse

Search MLA Bibliography using:

  • freedom of speech
  • language policy
  • on freedom of speech
  • political correctness
  • relationship to political correctness
  • relationship to freedom of speech
  • verbal abuse

-->Be sure to evaluate the sources you find. Use How to Evaluate Books and How to Evaluate Articles for suggestions of things to examine.

Note: CSU no longer subscribes to the indexes listed below, but the term should work if your library has them:

Search Article First using:

  • free speech
  • freedom of speech
  • hate speech

Search ABI/Inform using:

  • freedom of speech

Search Electric Library using:

  • academic freedom
  • censorship and language
  • free speech
  • freedom of speech
  • freedom of the press
  • hate speech
  • political correctness

Standard & Non-Standard English

This section gives recommendations of resources to use and the terms to search in them for topics related to standard and non-standard English.

Search the library catalog (check Prospector too) using:

  • Americanisms
  • English language - grammar
  • English language - United States
  • English language - dialects
  • English language - standardization
  • English language - usage
  • English language - foreign countries
  • English language - variation

Search Academic Search Premier using:

  • English language
  • standard language
  • dialect literature
  • African-Americans language
  • Black English
  • English language dialects
  • English language United States
  • English language study & teaching
  • English language usage

Be certain to combine terms in the databases below to find more precisely what you need. Also, you don't want to be searching through large sets of search results. See Advanced Searching Tips for suggestions.

Search Communication & Mass Media Complete using:

  • Grammar, comparative & general
  • Language & languages
  • Standard language
  • United States

Search ERIC using:

  • Communication skills
  • Language variation
  • English instruction
  • Standard spoken usage
  • Language usage

Search MLA Bibliography (Modern Language Association) using:

  • nonstandard language
  • Black English dialect

Search Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts using:

  • standard English
  • language standardization
  • English
  • nonstandard English
  • nonstandard

Search Business Source Complete using:

  • Accents & accentuation
  • Attitudes toward language
  • Choice (Psychology)
  • Communication
  • English dialects
  • English grammar
  • English language
  • English language --Usage
  • Errors
  • Impression formation (Psychology)
  • Language & languages
  • Language & languages -- Ability
  • Prejudices
  • Social development
  • Urban dialects
  • Urban youth

Note: CSU no longer subscribes to the indexes listed below, but the terms should work if your library has them:

Search Article First using:

  • Standard English

Search Black Studies Disc (non-networked, stand-alone disc) using:

  • Black dialects
  • language usage
  • North American English
  • language minorities
  • language variation
  • racial bias
  • language role
  • nonstandard dialects
  • standard spoken usage

Search Humanities International Index using:

  • English language Standardization
  • Black English
  • African Americans language
  • English language United States
  • Native language
  • English language
  • Grammar, comparative & general

Be sure to evaluate the sources you find. Use How to Evaluate Books and How to Evaluate Articles for suggestions of things to examine.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Kristy Nowak
Contact:
I am available to help you virtually! Please contact me by e-mail, chat (chat will say "Chat with Kristy" when online), or set up a virtual appointment above!

E-mail: kristy.nowak@colostate.edu
Office Hours calendar: https://libguides.colostate.edu/kristynowak

How to Do Library Research

24/7 Library Help

24/7 Library Help

Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.

URL: https://libguides.colostate.edu/English | Print Page