Finding Lists of Companies
These databases allow you to pull lists of companies that are in the same industry. Your list can be used as starting point for further research into these competitors.
- Mergent OnlineCoverage: Varies
Provides current and historical financial information on U.S. and international publicly traded companies. Including annual reports, holdings data, trading data, FactSheets, and more. NOTE: The Mergent Online platform will be sunsetting in June 2025 for the new platform Mergent Atlas, which is fully accessible to CSU beginning February 2025
- ReferenceUSA (Poudre River Library District database)This is a very comprehensive database, with listings for small mom and pop businesses. You can access this with a Poudre River Public library card
NAICS and SIC codes
Many databases use NAICS and/or SIC codes to organize companies by industry, so knowing the code(s) that apply to your business idea can help you search for competitors more quickly. You may find one code that perfectly fits, but if you have multiple lines of business, there may be two or more that apply.
- North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)Use the 2017 NAICS search box on the left side of the screen to find the most relevant industry codes.
Annual Reports and 10Ks
Annual reports and 10Ks contain financial statements, an overview of company operations, and more. The databases below provide access to these types of reports, but you can also find them in the investor's section of company websites.
- Mergent OnlineReports and 10K filings are listed under the Reports tab once you are viewing a specific company's information. You can also search for 10Ks under the Government filings tab on the database's homepage.
- EDGAR (SEC filings)EDGAR contains 10Ks and other government required filings for public companies back to 1994.
Further Competitor Research
Other resources to help you learn more details about your competitors.
- Business Source CompleteCSU Database. Provides indexing, abstracts, and full-text content for scholarly business journals and trade publications in all disciplines of business--including marketing, management, CIS, accounting, finance, and economics. The database also includes investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
- Nexis UniCoverage: Varies
Nexis Uni is a comprehensive database with access to over 17,000 news, business and legal sources. It provides full-text of local, regional, national and international newspapers, as well as access to scholarly journals, trade publications, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs. Its extensive legal sources include federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790. With business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives, it is a robust resource for in-depth business research. - Wall Street Journal - Eastern Edition (1984-present)CSU database. Companies are often profiled in the Wall Street Journal, especially in new and interesting industries.
Ask a Librarian
Ask Us About:
- Finding articles, books, & more
- Using library resources
- Citing your sources
Library Help
Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.