Researching Social Entrepreneurship
- Sage DataFind demographic and economic information about the region your social enterprise operates in.
- Business Source CompleteProvides indexing, abstracts, and full-text content for scholarly business journals and trade publications in all disciplines of business
- The Institute for Social EntrepreneursSeminars, workshops, and consulting services
- Institute for Sustainable DevelopmentAn organization that promotes sustainable development through partnerships and research. Site provides news, reports, and free downloadable publications covering various themes. RSS subscription is available.
- The Schwab Foundation for Social EntrepreneurshipSupports social entrepreneurs through events, research, and work with academic institutions.
International Data
- Sage DataCoverage: Varies depending on the dataset.
The largest repository of standardized and structured statistical data, Data Planet includes over 6.2 billion datasets and offers immediate access to data presented in charts, maps, graphs, and table form. Users can compare billions of indicators at the county, MSA, census-tract, state, and country level.
- IMF - International Monetary FundOrganization of 185 countries working on international monetary cooperation, sustainable economic growth, and poverty reduction. Site includes information on the work of the IMF, country information, data & statistics, and news.
- Organisation for Economic Co-operation and DevelopmentTopics on the OECD WebSite cover economic and social issues including macroeconomics, trade, education, development, and science & innovation. CSU Libraries purchases and subscribes to some OECD publications. Check our catalog.
- United Nations - Economic and Social DevelopmentInformation on a variety of economic and social issues. Regional development information is also available.
- U.S. Agency for International DevelopmentAgency provides and supports economic and humanitarian assistance to more than 100 countries. Partnership information is provided.
- The World BankOrganization with focus on reducing global poverty. Site includes country information, news & events, statistics, and a projects database. See also the WDI (World Development Indicators) database.
Social Entrepreneurship Funding
This is a very small slice of the available funders for social enterprise. Many more companies and private foundations provide grants and loans to social enterprises in very narrow niches, so a Google search will help you find even more options.
- Foundation Directory OnlineThis is the largest database for non-profit and social enterprise funding. You can access this with a Poudre River Public library card, but it is only available in their Harmony and Old Town locations.
- Acumen FundAcumen Fund is a non-profit global venture fund that supports entrepreneurial approaches to solving the problems of health, housing, and water.
- BRAC: Alleviation of Poverty and Empowerment of the PoorA Bangladesh organization that provides programs for economic and social development with objectives of poverty alleviation and empowerment of the poor.
- Draper Richards FoundationOrganization that provides funding and business mentoring to social entrepreneurs.
- Echoing GreenProvides seed funding and support to emerging social entrepreneur leaders and organizations.
Ask a Librarian
CSU Librarians
Ask Us About:
- Finding articles, books, & more
- Using library resources
- Citing your sources
Library Help
Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.