Research Guides: Impact MBA: Company Info

Company Research

Once you know your company's type, use these databases to find more in depth information. The descriptions below each link will tell you which company types they include.

Mergent Intellect
Create lists of companies, public, private, and subsidiaries by geographic region and by industry. Especially helpful for local research and very small companies.
Mergent Online
Contains information on public companies only. Especially good for finding company financial statements because you can download many years worth of data into Excel to do analyses.
PrivCo
Private company database (U.S. and abroad) with financials, M&A deals, etc. Especially good if you are interested in private equity deals and funding structures. Click on "Direct Access" to enter the database.
Direct link to MarketLine Company Reports
Contains detailed profiles of public, private, and subsidiary companies. If you are off campus, the direct link may not work. These profiles can be found in Business Source Complete. Click "More" at the top of the screen, and choose "Company Profiles" to browse the full list.

Finding Private Company Information

Finding private company information can be a challenge, particularly if a company is small. Here are some suggested resources:

PrivCo
Coverage: Varies
Database of financial data on major privately-held companies. Includes private financials and revenues; private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history; and private and family ownership data.
Click the ‘Direct Link’ button to access content. Use the login button to access personalized features, .
Business Source Complete
Articles from business news sources and industry association magazines. These sources often profile smaller, private companies, so you can see if your company is included in any articles.
Regional Business News
Coverage: 1990 to present
Provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.
Nexis Uni
Provides full-text of local, regional, national and international newspapers, as well as access to trade publications, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs.

Your Librarian

Christine Pawliuk

Library Help

Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.