Recommended Resources - NR320 - Natural Resources History and Policy - Research Guides at Colorado State University Fort Collins

Getting Started

These are encyclopedia-type resources that provide an introduction to natural resources and policy topics.

Congressional Publications (ProQuest)
Coverage: 1789- Present This is a database of hearings, committee prints, reports, documents and other Congressional resources. Provides full text of hearings and citations and selected full text for other publication types. Primary source content on a variety of natural resources topics. Look at the "Topic Pages" for an overview of different aspects of a variety of subjects, including environmental policy legislation. Tip: Search for the full name of the piece of legislation, not the abbreviation. For example, search for National Environmental Policy Act, NOT NEPA.
HeinOnline
Coverage: 1754 to present
Legal history and government documents, law journals, the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
CQ Researcher Online
Information on policy issues including natural resources. Contents can be searched or browsed.

News Sources

US North Central Newsstream
Coverage: Varies Provides full text access to a variety of newspapers, primarily from the North Central United States. This resource includes several local Colorado and Wyoming newspapers, including: Denver Post, the Coloradoan (Fort Collins), Colorado Daily (Boulder), Daily Camera (Boulder), and Wyoming Tribune-Eagle (Cheyenne, WY).

High Country News (Online)
Covers the Rocky Mountain West and includes articles from 2002 to present. Older articles are in print at the library, and may be requested by using interlibrary loan.

E & E News
Natural resources news. Access sponsored by WCNR.
NewsBank Access World News
Newspapers and some magazine articles. The geographic search feature may be helpful if you are focusing on a regional topic or issue.

Additional News Sources
Links to other news sources available through CSU Libraries.

Article Databases

Use these databases to find a variety of information types, but primarily scholarly journal articles.

Web of Science
Covers many subjects including science and history.
HeinOnline
Coverage: 1754 to present
Legal history and government documents, law journals, the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
Nexis Uni
Includes law and policy sources, as well as news and business information. To search only legal journals, choose the "Law Reviews" option to the left of the Guided Search box.
JSTOR
Multidiscplinary coverage including science, history, and policy, but generally does not include items published within the last 5 years.
CAB Abstracts Complete (1910 to present) This link opens in a new window
Includes scientific research articles on a variety of natural resources topics.
Environmental Science Database (ProQuest)
Broad coverage of environmental science, natural resources, and related subjects.

Find more databases
View all of the databases available through CSU Libraries. Browse databases for specific topic areas such as forestry or water by using the Subject drop-down menu, pictured at the left of the screenshot below.

Government Publications

Two government entities that produce documents relevant to natural resources policy are listed below. Other agencies may also produce useful publications.

Government Accountability Office

This agency creates reports on topics of interest to all areas of government, including natural resources.

Government Accountability Office (GAO) Reports
The linked website allows you to browse or search GAO documents.

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports

The CRS writes documents to inform Congress on a variety of subjects. As of 2021, no single comprehensive collection of reports is freely available, but several large collections are listed below. Each has different search or browse features as well as different content, so you may want to try several.

CRS Reports from congress.gov
Comprehensive coverage of R-series (in-depth) reports from 2018 onward. Older materials and other types of reports continue to be added.
University of North Texas CRS Reports
More than 40,000 reports from 1965 through 2018, with many options for browsing and searching.
Federation of American Scientists CRS Reports
Includes selected reports from 1990s to the present, arranged by topic. Use Control+F or Command+F to search for keywords within the lists of reports.
National Agricultural Law Center CRS Reports
Contains reports on topics related to agriculture, arranged by subject. Does not include the most recent reports. Use Control+F or Command+F to search for keywords within the lists.
CRSReports.com
Large collection of reports with a simple search interface. May not have the newest reports.

More Resources for Finding Government Publications

Government Information Research Guide
Everything you need to know to locate government information at CSU and beyond.
Search the U.S. Government
Search all federal, state, and local government websites with one search, including those without the .gov suffix.

Books & More

Primo Advanced Search
Find materials in the CSU Libraries catalog by using the "Books and More" option. To search the catalog and some additional library resources, choose the "Almost Everything" option.

Ask a Librarian

CSU Librarians

Subjects: Accounting, Aerospace & Military Science, Agricultural & Resource Economics, Agricultural Biology, Agriculture (all), Agriculture & Natural Resources, Animal & Equine Science, Anthropology, Apparel & Merchandising, Art & Art History, Atmospheric Science, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, Biological & Physical Sciences, Biology, Biomedical Sciences, Business (all), Business (Company), Business (Finance), Business (Industry), Business (International), Business (Marketing), Chemistry, Citation Style Guides, Communication & Journalism, Communication Studies, Composition & Communication, Computer Science, Construction Management, Counseling & Career Development, Criminology, Dance, Design, Diversity & Inclusion, Ecology, Economics, Education, Engineering, Engineering & Math, English Language & Literature, Environmental & Radiological Health Sciences, Ethnic Studies, Family & Consumer Sciences, Fermentation Science & Technology, Film Studies, Fish, Wildlife, & Conservation Biology, Food Science & Human Nutrition, Forest & Rangeland Stewardship, Geography, Geology, Government (U.S.), Health & Exercise Science, History, Horticulture & Landscape Architecture, Hospitality & Tourism Management, Human Development & Family Studies, Human Dimensions of Natural Resources, Interdisciplinary Liberal Arts, Journalism & Media Communication, Languages, Literatures, & Cultures, Legal Studies, Library & Information Science, Mathematics, Music, Natural Resources, Occupational Therapy, Organizational Leadership & Human Resources, Philosophy & Religion, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, Public Policy & Administration, Social Sciences/Human Studies, Social Work, Sociology, Soil & Crop Sciences, Sport Management, Statistics & Data Science, Sustainability, Veterinary Medicine, Water, Women's & Gender Studies

Library Help

Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.