Streaming Media
Find streaming videos and music from CSU Libraries and more
Media Collections
General/Interdisciplinary
- Academic Video Online (AVON)Concurrent Users: Unlimited
Streaming video collection which includes content for arts, humanities, business, science, and other areas. Contents are continually growing and includes tens of thousands of videos from producers and distributors worldwide.
Requires Chrome 35+, Firefox 47+, Internet Explorer 11+ or Edge. - Kanopy Film/Video StreamingKanopy is a streaming video resource. Films range from documentaries, indie and foreign films, to classics and blockbuster movies. CSU Libraries currently has access to over 1,000 of these videos. Instructors may submit a request within Kanopy for videos not currently licensed by CSU Libraries, and approved requests will typically be available in three business days. Scroll towards the bottom of your search results page to see items that need to be requested from the library.
Science
- Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE): Clinical & Translational MedicineJoVE Medicine includes methods and experimental approaches for biomedical research and clinical medicine, including case studies, clinical procedures, surgeries, clinical trials, and animal models of disease.
- ScienceCinemaCoverage: Varies
ScienceCinema highlights scientific videos featuring leading-edge research from the U.S. Department of Energy. Using innovative, state-of-the-art audio indexing and speech recognition technology from Microsoft Research, ScienceCinema allows users to search for specific words and phrases spoken within video files.
Social Sciences
- Psychotherapy.netCoverage: Varies
A searchable streaming video library featuring over 300 training videos on psychotherapy sessions with leading practitioners. Also includes articles, interviews and blogs. - Psychotherapy.net (Social Work collection)Coverage: Varies
A searchable streaming video library addressing the fundamentals and core competencies of social work practice.
Humanities
- Naxos Music Library
Coverage: Varies
Online library of classical music. The library offers the catalogs of more than 50 classical, jazz and world music labels.
- Met Opera On DemandMaximum Concurrent Users: 10
Streaming video of performances by the Metropolitan Opera.
Primo Quick Searches for Streaming Media
Instructors interested in providing digitized versions of DVD/VHS items are encouraged to contact CSU Classroom Support Services.
- Search all streaming videos in PrimoTo search, replace "a" in the search box with the keyword/topic of your choice.
- Search for streaming PBS films in PrimoBrowse PBS films available online via CSU Libraries.
- Search Swank films in PrimoSearch first-run, mainstream films made available via Swank Motion Pictures.
Ask a Librarian
CSU Librarians
Ask Us About:
- Finding articles, books, & more
- Using library resources
- Citing your sources
Library Help
Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.