Veterinary Medicine
Data Mgmt. & Funding Sources
- SPIN (Sponsored Programs Information Network)Coverage: 1975 to present
A funding opportunities database for current federal, non-federal, and international funding opportunities, including: Fellowships, Research Grants, Publication Support, Sabbatical Support, RFAs (NIH Guide), Curriculum Development, Conference Support, RFPs (Commerce Business Daily).
First-time users will have to click the “Need to create a new profile?” link to set up an account with their CSU email address.
- Data & Donuts: Basics of Data ManagementCSU Libraries offers regular programming covering the basics of data management, archiving, and sharing.
Credible Article Sources / Databases
Which database should I pick?
Search PubMed if you are looking for something that is easy to search, covers general veterinary medicine, and includes human or translational medicine.
Search CAB Abstracts 1973-present or CAB Abstracts 1910-present if you are looking for a comprehensive animal science and veterinary medicine search.
Search Web of Science if you are looking for articles from life and physical sciences, zoology and conservation biology, and social sciences.
- Animal Health and Production CompendiumCoverage: Varies
The Animal Health and Production Compendium (AHPC) is a comprehensive, encyclopedic resource for information on animal health and production, to support sound decision-making in animal husbandry and food production worldwide. - CAB Abstracts 1973 - presentMaximum Concurrent Users: 4
Coverage: 1973 to present
Provides access to literature in the applied life sciences, including agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, plant sciences, mycology and parasitology, food science, human health, and nutrition. - CAB Abstracts Complete (1910 to present) This link opens in a new windowMaximum Concurrent Users: 4
Coverage:1910 to present
Multi-database search of CAB Abstracts and CAB Abstracts Archive. Provides access to literature in the applied life sciences, including agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, plant sciences, mycology and parasitology, food science, human health, and nutrition. - PubMed (National Library of Medicine)Coverage: 1950 to present
Provides access to bibliographic citations and abstracts for clinical medical literature. - Web of ScienceCoverage: Varies
Multidisciplinary database covering journal articles and conference proceedings in arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
How to do a Literature Review
Frameworks
Use frameworks to avoid falling down the information rabbit hole.
Frameworks also help
- Identify searchable parts of a question
- Refine results
- Focus review process to relevant results
Image sources: Disney Origins Podcast / Disney; Harry Potter Wikia / Warner Bros.
PICO is a popular framework for clinical questions, especially those relating to therapy (intervention) effectiveness. This framework helps identify discrete and searchable aspects of a situation where a patient or population has a certain condition and the outcome of interest is related to a therapy or intervention.
Patient/Population: how would you describe the patient or population of interest?
Intervention: what therapy or intervention do you want to investigate exposing the patient or population to?
Comparison: (optional) (may be null) what therapy or intervention do you want to compare the primary intervention to?
Outcome: the outcome of interest; may be used in search terms or during results review
Time: (optional) may be a limiter or used during results review (the past 5 years, for example)
Study: (optional) may be a limiter or used during results review (preferring systematic reviews, meta-analyses, and RCTs over other study designs, for example)
PEO is another framework that is especially useful when investigating a prognosis or likelihood of developing a certain condition as a result of a pre-existing condition or exposure.
Patient/Population: how would you describe the patient or population of interest?
Exposure: what pre-existing conditions does the patient/population have or what has the patient/population been exposed to?
Outcome: the outcome of interest; unlike in PICO, the outcome is almost always used in the search terms with the PEO framework
Librarian
24/7 Library Help
Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.
