Research Guides: ETST310: African-American Studies: Find Articles

Off-Campus Access

As a CSU student, your eID is your ticket to getting to library resources off-campus. In most situations, all you will need to do is enter your eID and password when you are prompted. Once you sign in, your session will remain active until you completely exit your web browser.

Off-Campus Access
See this page for updated, complete information about how to access library resources and services from wherever you are learning.

Find Articles

Try these databases to get started:

Starting Point Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Varies
Multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and popular articles. Includes full text, peer-reviewed journals, PDF backfiles to 1975, and searchable cited references.
JSTOR
Coverage: Varies
A digital library for scholars, researchers, and students. Access more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Temporary access to: JSTOR Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Jewish Studies, Lives of Literature, 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sights: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa. Ends July 1, 2021
Project Muse
Coverage: Varies
Full-text online access to journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press and other scholarly publishers. Includes literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

Databases Focusing on Black/African Americans

Black Thought and Culture
Coverage: Varies
Contains the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans, including interviews, journal articles, letters and other fugitive material.
Black Drama: 1850 to present
Coverage:1850 to present
Plays by Black and African American playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Black Short Fiction and Folklore : African, African American and Diaspora
Coverage: 1870 to present
Materials have been compiled from early literary magazines, archives, and the personal collections of the authors. It covers early African oral traditions, today’s hip-hop, fables, parables, ballads, folk-tales, short story cycles, and novellas—all the writings included have fewer than 10,000 words.
Black Women in America
Coverage: Varies
Describes the achievements of black women throughout history and highlights their ongoing contributions in America today.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
Coverage: 1790-2000
Features approximately 1,600 primary source documents related to critical people and events in Black or African American history, particularly regarding the struggle against racial injustice in the United States.
Ebony Magazine Archive
Coverage: 1945-2014
Originally published by John H. Johnson beginning in November 1945, Ebony has served as an influential African-American magazine promoting stories important to the black community and focusing on the achievements of African-American leaders. Spanning 70 years of content, from 1945 through 2014, this searchable full-text archive provides an in-depth look at African-American business, history, politics, entertainment, fashion, and culture.

Other Relevant Resources

Ethnic NewsWatch
Coverage: 1959 to present
A comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Sociological Abstracts
Coverage: 1952 to present
Indexes and abstracts the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Web of Science
Coverage: Varies
Multidisciplinary database covering journal articles and conference proceedings in arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Can’t find the full article?

Use the button in the database to check for full text availability. If full text is not available, click on "CSU-Fort Collins Interlibrary Loan" to submit an Interlibrary Loan request.