Collection of more than 1500 digitized pamphlets and other writings dealing with prohibition.
"Twenty-six volumes were gathered for an investigation of Chicago crime, focusing on prostitution and the illegal sale of alcohol. Notes are from on-scene investigations, summaries of court records and newspaper clippings."
Materials from the 1920s that document the widespread prosperity of the Coolidge years; includes books, images, articles and more; part of American Memory
"Contains correspondence, press releases, speeches, and reports" that "document Anderson's work with the Anti-Saloon League "
Major ongoing project to digitize over 400,000 items illustrating the history of WWI primarily European in focus but does include material dealing with the US.
Digitized collection includes published texts plus six hundred pages of manuscript letters and diary entries and images.
Digitized collection includes photographs, diaries and other material dealing with the US military intervention against the Bolsheviks in northern Russia 1918-1919.
More than 200 pamphlets including political tracts, government publications and more.
Over 1,800 examples of music from the WWI era.
This collection contains the full text of 260 League of Nations document, with a focus on three areas: the founding of the League, international statistics published by the League, and the League's work toward international disarmament.
The newspaper's mission was to provide scattered troops with a sense of unity and an understanding of their part in the overall war effort. Date coverage is February 8, 1918, to June 13, 1919.
Posters from government, commercial and charitable organizations. Subject matter is diverse, covering such topics as military recruitment, rationing, films/theatre, anti-war movements and many others.
Pamphlets collected by the Princeton University Library starting from the outbreak of World War I. The collection contains pamphlets published in Europe during and immediately after World War I. They cover a broad range of topics including the economy, the press, the military, arms, territorial disputes, and others. The collection also includes speeches, sermons, bulletins, calendars, and songbooks. Covers 1894-1918.
Newspaper clippings from the 400-volume, World War History: Daily Records and Comments as Appeared in American and Foreign Newspapers, 1914-1926. "The clippings yield significant information about the political, social, cultural, and economic impact of the war as it is taking place and its aftermath....and contain war-related editorials, features, cartoons, photos, maps, and more."
Contains full text, images, biographies, personal reminiscences and links to other web resources.
Features a collection of war-themed cards produced in Great Britain, France, Italy, Germany, Russia, and the U.S. during World War One (1914-1918).
2,900 life histories describe the informant's family education, income, occupation, political views and more; part of American Memory.
Collection of 148 interviews originally compiled for a 1993 PBS broadcast; includes video plus transcripts; from the collection of Washington University.
Audio recordings, photographs, manuscript materials, publications, and ephemera documenting the everyday life of residents in migrant work camps in 1941-1942.
1936 to 1943, over 900 posters.
Photographs of the Civil Works Administration projects in Washington.
Photographs and black-and-white film negatives from 1935-1944.
Transcriptions of interviews of people who participated in the Dust Bowl Migration, as well as photographs, articles and more from California State University, Bakersfield.
Letters written by Caroline A. Henderson who farmed land in Oklahoma during the Dust Bowl years.
Primary source documents from the Library of Congress covering the Dust Bowl Migration and the New Deal.
Digital collection of the National Archives, covering the Great Depression and WWII.
Transcript of report to President Roosevelt on the drought of the Great Pains - August 27, 1936.
Selected digitized photos that depict the life of migrant farm workers living and working on Farm Security Administration camps in central California.
Digitized collection of nearly 1,000 posters from the WPA (1936-1943).
Provides access to a number of digital collections. Topics range from military maps Japanese-American internment camp newspapers.
Collection of oral histories, photographs and documents dealing with Japanese American history with special focus of World War II.
Digitized collections include WWII era diary, artwork and photos.
Digitized photographs, documents, diaries, and and more illustrating the Japanese American experience especially during World War II.
Collection of more than 60 WRA documents from the Truman Library.
Digitized documents of the Unitarian Universalist Service Committee, an organization that aided Holocaust survivors.
The "official record of the trial of the major civilian and military leaders of Nazi Germany who were accused of war crimes." Also see the Nuremberg Trials Project & the Law Reports of Trials of War Criminals
Museum site includes a number of exhibits with primary documents including images and oral histories.
Collection of 70 early interviews of Holocaust survivors. Also see other oral history collections: Voice/Vision Holocaust Survivor Oral History Archive, Jewish Survivors of the Holocaust & Fritz Bauer Institute.
The Holocaust Martyrs' and Heroes' Remembrance Authority includes more than 100,000 digitized photographs, the Central Database of Shoah Victims' Names and exhibits.
Royal Air Force Museum's site includes background information, daily reports and photographs.
Collection of newsmaps, Army publications that depict key events in the war with maps and photographs.
Thousands of war images from the Netherlands Institute for War Documentation.
"Digital Archive of Documents & Photographs from American Missionaries Who Witnessed the Rape of Nanking."
Small digital collection of American photojournalist Harrison Forman's photographs & diary.
Photos documenting the Battle of Normandy and its aftermath (summer of 1944).
Communiques relate the daily progress of the Allied campaign in Europe from D-Day on June 6, 1944 until the German surrender on May 7, 1945.
12 hours of opinions gathered in the days and months following Pearl Harbor.
More than 300 US government documents dealing with the war effort at home.
Oral history videos with women who worked in factories during WWII.
This collection of over 600 items includes posters, pamphlets & other material from the WWII era.
This set of primary sources—photos, advertisements, maps, and other documents—sheds light on that struggle toward the Nineteenth Amendment.
The National Archives' primary source document collection includes letters, photographs, Congressional resolutions, and more.
More than 1,000 images mostly from the late 19th and early 20th centuries
The NAWSA Collection consists of 167 books, pamphlets and other artifacts documenting the suffrage campaign. Part of American Memory.
More than 700 photographs especially of the 1913 International Woman Suffrage Alliance (IWSA) Congress
More than 400 digitized photographs dating primarily from 1913 to 1922
Correspondence, scientific notebooks, journals, blueprints, articles, and photographs documenting the life of Bell.
Digitized collection includes correspondence, writings by Kelley and other material.
Transcriptions of articles, essays, editorials dealing with the McKinley assassination in 1901.
Over 5,000 digitized items, including photographs, cartoons, newspaper articles, and diary entries.
Correspondence and other material dealing with the inventor from 1847 to 1897.
Correspondence and other papers of the aviation pioneers primarily dating from 1900 to 1940; part of American Memory.
Selections of letters, articles, images and more documenting Buffalo Bill.
Diaries and letters from 1834-1893 of the 19th president of the United States.
More than 3400 digitized maps, photos and other documents of the aviator.
Digitized documents dealing with diplomacy and other mattters.
Primary sources of the controversial priest include radio broadcasts, the newspaper, Social Justice, pamphlets and books.
Correspondence and other papers of the aviation pioneers primarily dating from 1900 to 1940; part of American Memory.
The Chicago Public Library’s 10-year run of the Examiner, while incomplete, represents the longest run of the paper still available.
Translations of Chicago ethnic newspapers from 1861-1938.
Chicago's version of the New Yorker magazine.
Selection of digitized newspapers covering a period ranging from 1836 to 1922.
Digitized version of the NAACP magazine from 1910 to the present.
Ongoing project to digitize classic media magazines including selected issues of Photoplay, Film Daily and Moving Picture World.
Digitized versions of The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present).
Popular national newspaper among the deaf population of the US.
Complete run of the WWI edition of the newspaper from February 8, 1918, to June 13, 1919.
The magazine of the US Navy
Digitized collection of more than 144,000 newspaper clippings.
Digitized issues of the popular illustrated magazine.
Paper of the Japanese American Citizens League covering 1929 - 1955.
Digitized versions of The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962), The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962), and The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present).
Collection of 40 columns by the noted WWII journalist.
New York paper from 1841-1902.
19th century women's magazine; some years may be missing.
Search engines can be useful for locating specific primary source documents. If you use Google, enter the names of specific documents in quotation marks.
For broader searches, add primary source keyword terms, such as documents, primary sources, or papers to your search.
Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.
