- Colorado State University Libraries
- Research Guides
- HIST 348: UNITED STATES, 1917-1945
- Finding Print Primary Sources
HIST 348: UNITED STATES, 1917-1945
Locating Primary Sources in the Libraries Catalog
To locate primary sources in CSU Libraries, please use advanced search feature of the Libraries' catalog. In the first box, type in your topic. Remember, start broad and then narrow your search depending on your results. For example, if you were looking for primary sources related to the "Great Depression," simply type the keyword in the first box next to keyword. Then change the dropdown option in the second box to "sources" or something similar (diaries, letters, speeches, etc) and click search.
Your results list will be limited to resources are primary sources or have primary sources in them. For example, the first result on the imagine below is a collection of primary sources.
Suggested Sources
The 1920s (1920-1929) by ISBN: 9781619254930Publication Date: 2014-09-17This new resource is designed to give students and researchers new insight into the 1920s in American history, through an in-depth analysis of forty important primary source documents and their lasting effect on American history.
Defining Documents in American History by ISBN: 9781682172858Publication Date: 2017-03-07This text explores the full history of immigration issues in America, from those early immigrants making their way through Ellis Island, to immigration issues in modern society. With in-depth analysis of a broad range of documents, researchers come away with fresh understanding and insight to study this hot button topic.
World War II (1936-1947) by ISBN: 9781619257375Publication Date: 2015-03-31This volume provides readers with a new, interesting way to study the impact of World War II on American history. Through in-depth analysis of important primary documents from 1936 to 1947, readers will gain new insight into the causes, issues, and lasting effects of this pivotal time in American history.
The 930s (1930-1939) by ISBN: 9781619254954Publication Date: 2014-11-12This important resource provides readers with many new ways to explore the 1930s in American history, as the country was immersed in the Great Depression. The text provides in-depth analysis of forty primary source documents to deliver a thorough examination of this important time in American history.
Defining Documents in American History by ISBN: 9781682171851Publication Date: 2016-09-27This new addition to the Defining Documents series profiles the first decade of the 20th century in America through careful, close analysis of historic documents from the era. Over thirty primary source documents are studied, delivering a thorough examination of this crucial period in American history.
CSU Libraries' Archives and Special Collections
The University Archive and Special Collections at CSU Libraries provide users with a plethora pf primary source materials.
The University Archive at CSU Libraries serves as institutional memory of CSU, and collects official copies of historically significant university records, faculty papers, photograph collections, and other materials documenting university history. Click here to explore the University Archive.
Our Special Collections Unit has more than 20,000 items from antiquities to the 21st century. Subject strengths include Vietnam War literature, feminist presses, equine medicine, water, agriculture, and other topical categories. Click here to explore Special Collections.
24/7 Library Help
Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.
