Home - VM611 - Foundations of Veterinary Medicine - Research Guides at Colorado State University Fort Collins

Databases

CAB Abstracts 1973 - present
Maximum Concurrent Users: 4
Coverage: 1973 to present
Provides access to literature in the applied life sciences, including agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, plant sciences, mycology and parasitology, food science, human health, and nutrition.
MEDLINE (PubMed)
PubMed is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's (NLM) premiere search system for health information. It's freely available online and includes MEDLINE; indexing for about 110 veterinary and laboratory animal journals; citations for articles in process for MEDLINE indexing; more than 22 million citations overall in the biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life sciences journals, and online books.

If you would like more information about seaching PubMed for veterinarians, Texas A& M, in cooperation with the NLM has created a a tutorial on this topic: http://guides.library.tamu.edu/IFV_pm_basics

Web of Science
Provides seamless access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world.

Zoological Record
Coverage: 1864-present
Coverage of the world's zoological and animal science literature, covering all research from biochemistry to veterinary medicine. Provides a collection of references from serial publications, books, meetings, reviews, and other non-serial literature. An online thesaurus of controlled terms arranged in hierarchies makes it easy to locate appropriate search terms. Scope notes and related term references are also provided.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide
Coverage: 1935 to present
Provides citations and some abstracts to the literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians.

Not sure where to search? This article compares coverage of the veterinary literature in 9 databases.

Grindlay, D., Brennan, M., & Dean, R. (2012). Searching the veterinary literature: a comparison of the coverage of veterinary journals by nine bibliographic databases. Journal Of Veterinary Medical Education, 39(4), 404-412. doi:10.3138/jvme.1111.109R

EBVM Learning
The tutorial was written by veterinary educators and practitioners from the EBVM Network, and is supported by RCVS Knowledge.
Using the Literature to Support Veterinary Clinical Practice: Part I
Overview of EBVM principles from the Samuel and Marian Hodesson Veterinary Medicine Library at The Ohio State University (10 minutes)
Using the Literature to Support Veterinary Clinical Practice: Part II
This tutorial shows how to apply EBVM principles to the case of Clyde the Scottish terrier. (11 min)

Michelle Wilde
Veterinary Medicine Librarian
Phone: (970) 491-1860
Michelle.Wilde@colostate.edu

Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.