CO300 - Writing Arguments
Best Bets for CO300!
Because CO300 classes have such a wide array of topics and majors, there are many different resources that can be used for research. Below, you will find specific categories, such as newspaper resources and general databases. Also refer to the Finding Resources for Your Subject tab for how to locate materials for your major/discipline. In general, however, here are some good places to start (and the resources we typically review in CO300 library sessions):
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowCoverage: Varies
Multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and popular articles. Includes full text, peer-reviewed journals, PDF backfiles to 1975, and searchable cited references. -
NewsBank Access World NewsCoverage: Varies
Includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. Includes fully searchable primary sources. -
CQ Researcher OnlineCoverage: 1991 to present
A collection of reports covering political and social issues, including topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Reports include opposing perspectives, background information on issues, and relevant contacts and further reading.
Article Databases
Use these Research Databases to help you track down articles about your topic.
Look for the 
button to help you get to the full-text of articles.
-
CQ Researcher OnlineThis is a great place to get an overview and background information about your topic. CQ puts out reports on various topics that are notoriously even-handed in their coverage.
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowThis is a general database that is good to use as a starting point.
-
NewsBank Access World NewsCoverage: Varies
Includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. Includes fully searchable primary sources. -
Gale ebooks (Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowThere are full-text encyclopedia entries on a wide range of topics in this reference database. Search for climate change and note the various entries dealing with politics, population, science, etc.
-
JSTORCoverage: Varies
A digital library for scholars, researchers, and students. Access more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Temporary access to: JSTOR Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Jewish Studies, Lives of Literature, 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sights: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa. Ends July 1, 2021 -
Web of ScienceThis database covers science articles, plus a whole lot more. It is full of scholarly resources and the FindIt button will be there to help you track down access to the articles.
-
Google ScholarGoogle Scholar can be a useful database for academic journal articles, just make sure to note the source as there is a mix of higher and lower quality sources indexed here. For information on using Google Scholar with CSU library interactivity from home, visit: https://libguides.colostate.edu/googlescholar
Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Publications
WHAT IS PEER REVIEW....IN 3 MINUTES
Here are the basic things to look for when trying to determine if you're looking at a scholarly or a popular publication:
|
Scholarly Journals
|
Popular publications
|
If, after examining a publication for these features, you still can't tell if it's scholarly/peer-reviewed, search Ulrich's Web (Periodicals Directory) for the publication title.
Style Guides:
Librarian
E-mail: kristy.nowak@colostate.edu
Office Hours calendar: https://libguides.colostate.edu/kristynowak
24/7 Library Help
Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.
