Research Guides: Human Dimensions of Natural Resources (HDNR): Reference / Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias & Reference Resources

CSU Libraries has many encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference materials available both online and in print. These can be excellent places to begin your research, since they provide an overview of the issues surrounding a topic. Pay special attention to any words or phrases that you could use to find more information.

Gale ebooks (Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Search in many reference works at the same time. Includes information on a wide variety of topics in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.

Encyclopedia of Environment and Society
Publication Date: 2007
Print book located in the reference collection at Morgan Library.
Encyclopedia of Energy, Natural Resource, and Environmental Economics
Publication Date: 2013
E-book available online to CSU students, faculty, staff, and affiliates.

Yearbook of Tourism Statistics, Data 2013-2017
Deriving from the most comprehensive statistical database available on the tourism sector, the Yearbook of Tourism Statistics focuses on data related to inbound tourism (total arrivals and overnight stays), broken down by country of origin
Compendium of Tourism Statistics, Data 2013-2017
The Compendium of Tourism Statistics provides statistical data and indicators on inbound, outbound and domestic tourism, as well as on the number and types of tourism industries, the number of employees by tourism industries, and macroeconomic indicators related to international tourism.
Find more reference resources
Search for reference materials in the CSU Libraries catalog by choosing "Books and More." Then type in keywords that relate to both the topic and type of information source that you wish to find, such as tourism encyclopedia.

Ask a Librarian

CSU Librarians

Subjects: Accounting, Aerospace & Military Science, Agricultural & Resource Economics, Agricultural Biology, Agriculture (all), Agriculture & Natural Resources, Animal & Equine Science, Anthropology, Apparel & Merchandising, Art & Art History, Atmospheric Science, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, Biological & Physical Sciences, Biology, Biomedical Sciences, Business (all), Business (Company), Business (Finance), Business (Industry), Business (International), Business (Marketing), Chemistry, Citation Style Guides, Communication & Journalism, Communication Studies, Composition & Communication, Computer Science, Construction Management, Counseling & Career Development, Criminology, Dance, Design, Diversity & Inclusion, Ecology, Economics, Education, Engineering, Engineering & Math, English Language & Literature, Environmental & Radiological Health Sciences, Ethnic Studies, Family & Consumer Sciences, Fermentation Science & Technology, Film Studies, Fish, Wildlife, & Conservation Biology, Food Science & Human Nutrition, Forest & Rangeland Stewardship, Geography, Geology, Government (U.S.), Health & Exercise Science, History, Horticulture & Landscape Architecture, Hospitality & Tourism Management, Human Development & Family Studies, Human Dimensions of Natural Resources, Interdisciplinary Liberal Arts, Journalism & Media Communication, Languages, Literatures, & Cultures, Legal Studies, Library & Information Science, Mathematics, Music, Natural Resources, Occupational Therapy, Organizational Leadership & Human Resources, Philosophy & Religion, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, Public Policy & Administration, Social Sciences/Human Studies, Social Work, Sociology, Soil & Crop Sciences, Sport Management, Statistics & Data Science, Sustainability, Veterinary Medicine, Water, Women's & Gender Studies

24/7 Library Help

Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.