Human Dimensions of Natural Resources (HDNR)

Journal Articles & Databases

Library databases are great places to search for journal articles. Databases may also include other types of information such as newspaper articles, book chapters, or conference proceedings. No single database will contain all of the information that is available on a topic, so it is generally a good idea to search in at least two. Pick databases that include the subject areas and types of materials that you hope to find.

Recommended Databases for HDNR

CAB Abstracts Complete (1910 to present) This link opens in a new window
Maximum Concurrent Users: 4
Coverage:1910 to present
Multi-database search of CAB Abstracts and CAB Abstracts Archive. Provides access to literature in the applied life sciences, including agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, plant sciences, mycology and parasitology, food science, human health, and nutrition.
Sustainability Science Abstracts
Coverage of journal literature and other select materials on a wide range of sustainability topics.
Web of Science
Includes scholarly articles and conference papers across the science fields. Non-science fields are covered to a lesser extent.
ScienceDirect
Coverage: 1995 to present
Collection of scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (Proquest)
This database includes A&I resources covering topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy response. This database includes the AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, Environmental Sciences and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
PsycInfo
Covers the professional and academic psychology literature. Includes articles on how people relate to the natural world, attitudes about the environment, and more.

Find more databases
Find all of the databases available through CSU Libraries. Browse by title using the A - Z List or by topic using the Subject tab.

Find Full Text

Many library databases only include abstracts (summaries) of articles. If you don't see a link that says "PDF full text" or "HTML full text" in a database, look for the FindIt@CSU icon. This will link you to the full text of the article.

Searching Effectively

Search Terms

A single concept can be described in many different ways, so use a variety of words when you are searching to retrieve more information on your topic.

Boolean Operators

Boolean operators can help you to find exactly the information that you need. Learn more about how to use them by watching this video from the University of Alabama Libraries.

Video by University of Alabama Libraries. CC BY-ND

More Search Techniques

Two other search techniques work in most databases.

Truncation: Place an asterisk at the end of a word stem to search for other forms of that word
- Ex) bicycl* - finds bicycle, bicycling, etc.
- Truncation expands the results
Phrase searching: Put short phrases in quotations to search for results which contain that phrase
- Ex) "bicycle commuting"
- Phrase searching narrows the results