Research Guides: Native Education Forum (NEF): General Resources

Database Search Tips

Databases are different than Google!

To search effectively, break down your topic to keywords.
Combine your keywords with connecting words - AND, OR, NOT (Quick Tutorial on Boolean Logic)
Start broad --> go narrow
Use a Wildcard symbol (*) after the root of a word to bring in variations of a word-psych* (psychology, psychological, psychic...)

Search term tips

Try a variety of terms-Native American*, Indian*, American Indian*
Combine with a broader topic-education, health, society
Remember to use connecting words:
- Native American* AND education
- Indian* AND higher AND education

CSU Libraries Tutorials and Videos - Interactive tutorials and videos about conducting research

Search for articles in the following recommeded multidisciplinary databases.

Academic Search Ultimate
Coverage: Varies
Multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and popular articles. Includes full text, peer-reviewed journals, PDF backfiles to 1975, and searchable cited references.
Business Source Complete
Coverage: Varies
Provides indexing, abstracts, and full-text content for scholarly business journals and trade publications in all disciplines of business--including marketing, management, CIS, accounting, finance, and economics. The database also includes investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
CQ Researcher Online
Coverage: 1991 to present
A collection of reports covering political and social issues, including topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Reports include opposing perspectives, background information on issues, and relevant contacts and further reading.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Coverage: 1959 to present
A comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
Gale ebooks (Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Coverage: Varies
Provides access to encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Web of Science
Multidisciplinary database covering journal articles and conference proceedings in arts and humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Resource Type: Research Databases

Email Me

Contact:

Morgan Library

970.491.5422

Subjects: Arts & Languages

Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.