JTC361-Writing for Specialized Magazines

A research guide to support coursework in JTC-361 Writing for Specialized Magazines

Magazine Indexes/ Databases

Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary, scholarly database. Includes full text for 4,500+ titles, including magazines, newspapers, and trade publications.
Business Source Complete
Provides bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 and full text journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, and economics. The database full text content includes trade publications, magazines, newspapers, financial data, books, monographs, book digests, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, and company profiles.
News & Newspapers
Provides current news; Historical Newspapers; and Ethnic Newswatch containing newspapers, magazines, journals, and newsletters of ethnic miniority, and native press.
NewsBank Access World News
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 US and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus.
Newspaper Source
Provides selected full-text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources.
US Major Dalies
Provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post.
Ulrichsweb
Bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world.

How to evaluate magazines

Detailed version of How to Evaluate Journal Articles

To evaluate a journal article look for:

Purpose of Article: Why was the article written?

Type of Journal: (See Evaluation Clues for Articles Taken from the Web)

Organization and Content: Is the material organized and focused?

Bias(of the publisher)

Date of Article

Bibliography

Usefulness: Is the article relevant to the current research project?

Authority/author: Is the author an expert in this field?

Coverage: Is it comprehensive or is it an overview?

Audience:For what type of reader is the author writing?

Illustrations: Are charts, graphs, maps, photographs, etc. used to illustrate concepts? Are the illustrations relevant? Are they clear and professional-looking?

Context: Information is contextual. Who, what, when, where, why, and how will impact whether or not a resource is useful to you. If you are doing a survey of popular culture, for example, popular magazines would be a useful primary source.

Complete short version of How to Evaluate Journal Articles and link toDetailed version of How to Evaluate Journal Articles.