Research Guides: Forest and Rangeland Stewardship (FRS): More Forest & Range Resources

More Forest & Range Resources: Table of Contents

Selected Forestry Resources

Encyclopedias & Reference Resources

Encyclopedia of Forest Sciences
Publication Date: 2004
Available in print at Morgan Library.

Silvics of North America
Freely available online from the U.S. Forest Service.

Insects and Diseases of Woody Plants in Colorado
Publication Date: 2014
Available in print at Morgan Library.
Forest Sampling Desk Reference
Publication Date: 2000
Available in print at Morgan Library.

Databases

Forestry Compendium
Includes reference sources such as a glossary and species datasheets, as well as a database of journal articles on forestry topics.
Treesearch (United States Forest Service Database)
Scientific reports and articles from the U.S. Forest Service.

Other Resources

Forest History Society
Use the online Research Portal to find literature citations, digital photographs, interviews, and more.
TreeGenes
Information and research data on tree genetics.

Selected Rangeland Science Resources

Encyclopedias & Reference Resources

North American Wildland Plants
Publication Date: 2017
E-book available from CSU Libraries.
Range Plant Handbook
Publication Date: 1988
Available in print at Morgan Library.
Weeds of the West
Publication Date: 2000
Available in print at Morgan Library.
A Glossary of Terms Used in Range Management
Publication Date: 1989
Available in print at Morgan Library.

Databases

JSTOR Global Plants
A collection of digitized plant type specimens contributed by hundreds of herbaria. Also includes reference sources, historical materials, and links to scholarly articles.

Other Resources

Colorado State University Herbarium
Plant specimens and information resources, some available online.
SEINet
Search the digitized collections of multiple herbaria.

News/Current Events

E & E News
Covers environmental topics and related news. Access supported by CSU Warner College of Natural Resources.

Mountain West News
This service offers news updates for the Rocky Mountain West, compiled by Mountain West News.
Newspaper and News Sources
Extensive information on finding news at CSU Libraries.

Government Information

Search the U.S. Government
Search all federal, state, and local government websites with one search, including those without the .gov suffix.
Government Information Research Guide
Links and instructions for finding information produced by all levels of the U.S. government.

Theses/Dissertations

Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest Collection)
Includes citations and some full text for theses and dissertations. Most are from U.S. institutions, but also some international.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
Search for electronic theses and dissertations completed at universities around the world.
WorldCat
Search the collections of libraries worldwide. Includes records for theses and dissertations available in print or electronically. The "material type" field may be used to limit results to theses/dissertations.

Ask a Librarian

CSU Librarians

Subjects: Accounting, Aerospace & Military Science, Agricultural & Resource Economics, Agricultural Biology, Agriculture (all), Agriculture & Natural Resources, Animal & Equine Science, Anthropology, Apparel & Merchandising, Art & Art History, Atmospheric Science, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, Biological & Physical Sciences, Biology, Biomedical Sciences, Business (all), Business (Company), Business (Finance), Business (Industry), Business (International), Business (Marketing), Chemistry, Citation Style Guides, Communication & Journalism, Communication Studies, Composition & Communication, Computer Science, Construction Management, Counseling & Career Development, Criminology, Dance, Design, Diversity & Inclusion, Ecology, Economics, Education, Engineering, Engineering & Math, English Language & Literature, Environmental & Radiological Health Sciences, Ethnic Studies, Family & Consumer Sciences, Fermentation Science & Technology, Film Studies, Fish, Wildlife, & Conservation Biology, Food Science & Human Nutrition, Forest & Rangeland Stewardship, Geography, Geology, Government (U.S.), Health & Exercise Science, History, Horticulture & Landscape Architecture, Hospitality & Tourism Management, Human Development & Family Studies, Human Dimensions of Natural Resources, Interdisciplinary Liberal Arts, Journalism & Media Communication, Languages, Literatures, & Cultures, Legal Studies, Library & Information Science, Mathematics, Music, Natural Resources, Occupational Therapy, Organizational Leadership & Human Resources, Philosophy & Religion, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, Public Policy & Administration, Social Sciences/Human Studies, Social Work, Sociology, Soil & Crop Sciences, Sport Management, Statistics & Data Science, Sustainability, Veterinary Medicine, Water, Women's & Gender Studies

Library Help

Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.