Forest and Rangeland Stewardship (FRS)
Library research help for students, faculty, and staff in Forest and Rangeland Stewardship.
Wildfire Resources
Encyclopedias & Reference
Encyclopedia of Natural HazardsPublication Date: 2013E-book available online to CSU students, faculty, staff, and affiliates.
- Glossary of Wildland Fire TerminologyAvailable online for all users. From the National Wildfire Coordinating Group.
Databases
The databases recommended on the Find Information tab are good places to search for journal articles on wildland fire. You may also want to try the resources listed below. Please note that FindIt@CSU is not linked in the following databases.
- E.V. Komarek Fire Ecology DatabaseSearch citations to fire ecology research. Primary focus is North America. Learn more about the database.
- Fire Effects Information System (FEIS) & Citation Retrieval System (CRS)FEIS contains literature reviews focusing on the response of specific organisms or ecological communities to wildfire. CRS is a database of citations to wildfire science literature.
Fire Maps & Data
- NIFC Wildland Fire OutlooksMaps and reports on wildfire risk for the United States and North America.
- USDA Forest Service Active Fire Mapping ProgramMaps and data for current wildfires.
- LANDFIREGIS and other data relevant to wildfire management. Covers the United States.
- International Multiproxy Paleofire Database (IMPD)"...fire history data derived from natural proxies...which includes data from tree scars and establishment data, and charcoal in sediment records..." - Fire History (NCEI)
Other Resources
- National Interagency Fire CenterNews, statistics, and other information about forest and range fires throughout the United States.
- Global Fire Monitoring CenterLinks to international wildfire information including forecasts, current events and more.
- Colorado State Forest Service - Wildfire MitigationInformation about wildfires and how to decrease danger.
National Fire Information - RSS Feed
Loading ...
Ask a Librarian
CSU Librarians
Ask Us About:
- Finding articles, books, & more
- Using library resources
- Citing your sources
Library Help
Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.