Skip to Main Content

Colorado Water History

A guide to finding and using historical information about water in Colorado and beyond

Colorado Water Oral Histories

In the Water Resources Archive:

Water Oral Histories Collection - a catchall collection containing a variety of interviews stretching from 1986 to 2022

Cache la Poudre Oral History Project Collection - a set of interviews about the river done between 2002 and 2004

Colorado Association of Soil Conservation Districts - a set of interviews about the association done in 1984 (see Box 5)

David McComb Big Thompson Flood Collection - interviews of witnesses of the 1976 Big Thompson flood and recovery

Local Water Resources History Collection - includes a few 1979 interviews about Grand Valley ditches and irrigation (see Series 4)

North Poudre Irrigation Company Oral History Collection - a set of interviews with company officials done between 1992 and 1994

Northern Colorado Flood Oral History Collection - a set of interviews conducted in Summer 2014 about the 2013 flood

Water Supply and Storage Company Collection - a set of interviews about the company conducted between 1973 and 1991

In the University Archives:

Oral History Tapes - water folks include Albertson, Chamberlain, and Kelly

Society of Senior Scholars Oral History Project - water folks include Freeman, McComb, Meiman, and Richardson

Elsewhere:

Colorado River Water Users Association Oral Histories

Boulder Public Library, Maria Rogers Oral History Program: 2013 flood interviews

Fort Collins History Connection - search their oral histories with keywords like flood or river

U.S. Bureau of Reclamation Oral Histories

History Colorado: Two Forks Dam interviews

This list is just a start; there are more water-related oral histories out there! Let us know what to add to the list by using the contact information at the right.

Your Archivist

Profile Photo
Patricia Rettig
Contact:
Archives & Special Collections
Morgan Library
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1019
970-491-1939
Website
Subjects: Water

24/7 Library Help

24/7 Library Help

Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.

URL: https://libguides.colostate.edu/waterhistory | Print Page