Research Guides: PBHL692: One Health Searching: Home

Searching for One Health Information

One Health, by definition, is a multidisciplinary topic, encompassing a variety of areas of study. Interdisciplinary databases are a good starting point, while specialty databases may also be used if more information is needed.

Interdisciplinary Searching: Start Here

Before searching subject specific databases, start with Web of Science. The database indexes a wide body of content and may meet your needs.

Web of Science
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database that indexes core journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.

Search Tips

Use AND/OR to combine your search terms. Put all the "OR" statements on one line
"urban nature" is a specific term that may not always be included in article titles. To capture a wide body of literature try including a variety of search terms:

"urban nature" OR "urban park*" OR "urban green space*"

("natural area" OR "natural space*") AND (city OR urban)

Try a variety of search terms based on your topic

Sample Search Terms	Be sure to join appropriate search terms by the word “OR” Examples: "urban nature" OR "urban park" OR "urban green space" ("natural area" OR "natural space*") AND (city OR urban)

Humans	You could try the search without specifying humans. Also try human, people, child*
Animals	Animal, mammal, wildlife, bird*, pets
Environment	ecosystem OR environment* OR biodiversity
Benefits	Benefit, “well being”, health, “mental health”, improve

Try sorting by "Citations, Highest First" to see the most frequently used articles.
Try limiting your search to review articles if appropriate
Look at bibliographies of key articles to get additional citation ideas

Your search might look like this:

Library Help

Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.