Connecting your keywords
Once you have your keywords identified, you'll need to connect them properly in order to search a library database effectively.
Boolean operators AND and OR are two main ways to connect your keywords.
Having trouble or want to learn more? See advanced search techniques.
Searching for news articles by topic
If you're searching for any news articles on a particular topic, use a more general news database. At CSU Libraries, these are:
- NewsBank Access World NewsProvides information from over 600 U.S. and 700 international newspapers and other sources.
- Nexis UniProvides information from U.S. and international newspapers, as well as access to business, legal, scholarly, trade, television, and radio sources.
In Access World News, you may want to limit your keyword search to Headline or Lead/First Paragraph to reduce your results to more relevant articles.
You can also find news articles in some other library databases, like Academic Search Ultimate. Try limiting the source type to Newspapers.
Searching within specific newspapers
CSU Libraries provides access to major newspapers, independent news presses, and much more.
You may have to go to a special database solely dedicated to a specific newspaper, or you may have to search within a general news database by limiting your keyword search to a specific source.
- To check for specific newspapers, like The New York Times, see all of our news databases.
- If you don't see the newspaper you're looking for in the list of news databases, try searching within a general news database, like Access World News. You can use the
to look for the newspaper title.
Or, you can search for a keyword within a specific source, like the example below.
