Special Collections

Colorado State University Libraries Archives and Special Collections Department collects rare and unique materials in subject areas that support the University's current research and education mission.

Welcome!

About...

Colorado State University Libraries Archives and Special Collections Department collects rare and unique materialsi in subject areas that support the University’s current research and education mission. The Rare Book Collection contains over 20,000 original materials including antiquities, fine bindings, and primary resource materials donated by individuals and organizations.

A systematic program was initiated in 1974 to acquire pieces representing major periods, media, processes, places and individuals in the history of the written and printed word. This has resulted in a collection with an historical range from cuneiform tablets over 4000 years old to modern first editions.

The department focus is on research use, access and instruction for rare materials in various Subject Collection areas, including:  Agriculture, Colorado State University, Equine Medicine, Posters, Publications, 19th Century American West Documents, Rare Maps,  and Water Resources. The collection also features numerous Signature Collections. showcasing  Vietnam war literature, second wave feminist press literature, rare music texts, and Germans from Russia history.

Librarian

Mark Shelstad's picture
Mark Shelstad
Contact:
Coordinator of Archives & Special Collections

Coordinator of Digital Collection Services

Morgan Library
Colorado State University Libraries
1019 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1019
(970) 491-2820

24/7 Library Help

24/7 Library Help

Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.

URL: https://libguides.colostate.edu/SpecialCollections | Print Page