Special Collections

Colorado State University Libraries Archives and Special Collections Department collects rare and unique materials in subject areas that support the University's current research and education mission.

Welcome!

About the Monfort Runyan Music Collection

Through the generous support of the Kenneth and Myra Monfort Charitable Trust, Myra Monfort and William Runyan  are working with the Colorado State University Libraries Archives and Special Collections Department to build a collection of primary source materials for music scholars.  The collection will focus on music theory, history and reference works of the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries. Included in the collection; a first edition, 1725, of Gradus ad Parnassum, Johann Joseph Fux’s important work on counterpoint; a second edition, 1769, of Gründlichen Violinschule, Leopold Mozart’s work on violin instruction and includes the first printed reference to Mozart; and a first edition, 1752, of Versuch einer Anweisung die Flöte, Johann Joachim Quantz’s work on flute playing and construction. Published in 1652,  Marcus Meibomius’ two volume work on ancient Greek music, Antiquae Musicae Auctores Septem is the earliest work in the collection. The rarest piece is the Bach score, 48 Préludes et Fugues.  Many volumes include exquisite engraved illustrations.

 

 

HIghlights

48 Préeludes et Fugues dans... / J.S. Bach. Paris : aux adresses ordinaires [1802?]

Gradus ad Parnassum / Johann Joseph Fux. Vienna : typis Joannis Petri van Ghelen, 1725.

Lutherie [from Encyclopédie, ou, Dictionnaire raisonné des sciences, des arts et des metiers / Denis Diderot]

Student Essays

The following selected historical Student  Essays  showcase research conducted by graduate students in Professor Dawn Grapes’ Methods of Music Research MU630 course.  During the fall semester of 2014 and 2015, the class was introduced to the Monfort Runyan Music Collection, a unique scholarly resource of rare primary source materials from the 1600’s - mid 20th century in Archives & Special Collections, followed with a research assignment based on a select volume.  Essays include insights into the significance of the work, in-depth bibliographical information, hands-on physical description of the book as artifact with photographs, and noteworthy publishing research; attesting to the historical relevance of music theory for today’s scholar.

Librarian

Mark Shelstad's picture
Mark Shelstad
Contact:
Coordinator of Archives & Special Collections

Coordinator of Digital Collection Services

Morgan Library
Colorado State University Libraries
1019 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1019
(970) 491-2820

24/7 Library Help

24/7 Library Help

Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.

URL: https://libguides.colostate.edu/SpecialCollections | Print Page