Special Collections

Colorado State University Libraries Archives and Special Collections Department collects rare and unique materials in subject areas that support the University's current research and education mission.

Kianna Middleton receives first Friedman Feminist Press Collection research grant

Friedman Feminist Press Collection Research Grant

In recognition of the legacy of CSU graduate June Friedman, the Friedman Feminist Press Collection provides research grants of up to $1,500 for researchers whose work would benefit from access to the collection. These grants are intended to help offset the expenses of researchers engaged in studies that will benefit from access to the holdings of the Friedman Feminist Press Collection.

The grants support projects that make substantial use of the FFPC, including historical research and documentation projects resulting in dissertations, publications, exhibitions, educational initiatives, documentary films, or other multi-media works. Research projects must make substantial use of the materials from the Friedman Feminist Press Collection and include a focus on women and/or gender.

About June Friedman

The Friedman Feminist Press Research Grant  is established in honor of June Friedman, a 1981 agronomy major and student activist with the CSU Feminist Group. Friedman co-organized the first Take Back the Night march in Ft. Collins and was a contributor to The CSU Feminist Newsletter. Her life was violently cut short a year after graduation.

Funding Amounts

  • Successful applicants will receive awards of up to $1,500, intended to support research visits of a minimum of three weeks.
  • Recipients are expected to present an informal work-in-progress colloquium to the CSU community during their residency.

Timeline

  • Applications are accepted and reviewed once a year.
  • Application deadline is January 21, 2020.
  • Awards will be announced and applicants will receive written notification on International Women’s Day, March 8, 2020.
  • Grant funds are paid following completion of the requirements of the grant, which must be completed by August 31, 2020.

Elgibility

Researchers should apply if their research interests and objectives would be significantly advanced by extended on-site work in the holdings of the Friedman Feminist Press Collection. 

Application Components

Applicants should submit the following materials with their application:

  • a brief description (no more than two pages) of the project and a preliminary list of collection materials to be consulted to conduct the research
  • a current CV or resume
  • a proposed budget (can be used for travel, scans, and photocopies)
  • Graduate students should also submit a letter of support from their graduate advisor, attesting to the value of the research for their master’s or doctoral thesis.

How to Apply

Send the completed application by January 21, 2020.  All materials must be submitted electronically as a single file. 

Mark Shelstad
Associate Professor | Coordinator for Digital and Archive Services
Colorado State University Libraries
P: 970.491.2820 | mark.shelstad@colostate.edu
1201 Center Avenue Mall | Fort Collins, CO 80523

Librarian

Mark Shelstad's picture
Mark Shelstad
Contact:
Coordinator of Archives & Special Collections

Coordinator of Digital Collection Services

Morgan Library
Colorado State University Libraries
1019 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-1019
(970) 491-2820

24/7 Library Help

24/7 Library Help

Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.

URL: https://libguides.colostate.edu/SpecialCollections | Print Page