Agriculture

Research help for students, faculty, and staff in Agricultural Sciences.

Getting Started with Government Documents

Government information can be an important contribution to your research. Government documents and reports can also be difficult to find. There isn't one way to search for and locate government information.

See CSU Libraries government information research guides:

Also:

Some databases include links to online government documents. TreeSearch includes Forest Service publications, for example.
Google advanced searches can be a useful way to locate more recent government documents. TIP: when searching Google, search using site:.gov after your search terms to find resources on government websites!

Government Information - Quick Links

PubAg
Search engine for literature published by USDA scientists. From the National Agriculture Library.
USDA Census of Agriculture
The Census of Agriculture, taken only once every five years, is a complete count of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them.
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
CRS reports provide Congress with both anticipatory and on-demand research and analysis. All reports are meant to be authoritative, objective, and nonpartisan.
Colorado Department of Agriculture
Includes a wide range of information related to Colorado agriculture.

Statistics

Publicly available (free):

USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service
The USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS) conducts hundreds of surveys every year and prepares reports covering virtually every aspect of U.S. agriculture.
Colorado Agricultural Statistics
USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service Colorado Field Office. Includes statistics, publications, and contact information.
FAOSTAT (Food and Agriculture Organization)
FAOSTAT provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings.

CSU Libraries databases:

Sage Data
Coverage: Varies depending on the dataset.
The largest repository of standardized and structured statistical data, Data Planet includes over 6.2 billion datasets and offers immediate access to data presented in charts, maps, graphs, and table form. Users can compare billions of indicators at the county, MSA, census-tract, state, and country level.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest)
Coverage: 1878 to present
A comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.