Research Guides: Colorado Government: Law and State Courts

Law and State Courts

Code of Colorado Regulations
The official version of the CCR as of July 1, 2007.
Colorado Bill Digest
Summaries of the major provisions of each bill passed during the preceding session.
Colorado General Assembly Prior Session Information
Links to prior House & Senate Bills, Resolutions, and Memorials; Committee Summary; House & Senate Status Sheet; and House & Senate Journals for 1997 forward.
Colorado House and Senate Rules
Colorado Judicial Branch
Website for Colorado courts; includes self-help and basic forms.
Colorado Legislative Council Resources & Publications
Full text access back to 1954. Includes ballot issues.
Colorado Register (Colorado Secretary of State)
Official publication of state administrative rules.
Colorado Revised Statutes
Colorado Session Laws
Annual compilation from 1993 to the present. Earlier years are found at: KFC 1825 .A2 Law/Tax
Legal Resources at the CSU Library
Includes both print and electronic resources of significance
Legislative Research Fundamentals
Provides an overview of statutory development; explanation of legislative source notes; print and electronic research tools and resources in the Joint Legislative Library; and how to research and compile a legislative history.
ProQuest Congressional (CSU affiliates only)
This database provides indexing and/or full text of Congressional publications from 1970 to the present.
Quick Guide to Colorado Legislative Information
Very useful compilation of important websites. Access to resources for research on current and past bills in the Colorado House and Senate as well as legislative issues by topic.

Crime and Corrections

Crime in Colorado. Colorado Bureau of Investigation. Annual. 1976,1979,1981-1982,1986,1990-1998 HV 6793 .C6C74 Morgan. Online 1998- .

"The annual Crime in Colorado report is a compilation of crime statistics submitted to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI) by Colorado law enforcement agencies through the national Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program."

Statistical Report. Department of Corrections. 1990/1991-1992/1993,1994,1996-2004,2006,2013- CR1.11/ latest year in Doc Ref;earlier years in Colorado Docs. 1988/89 Microfiche. Annual.

Online Departmental Reports and Statistics has recent performance plans, regulatory plan and regulatory agendas, statistics, and reports (legislative, monthly population and capacity, other).

Drug and Alcohol Abuse Indicator Chart Book for Colorado. State of Colorado Department of Human Services, Alcohol and Drug Abuse Division. HU12/20.2/D84 2001 Colorado Docs. Drug & Alcohol Online version (PDF) same year as print.

Data and graphics from the 1990s.

Law and Judiciary

Colorado Courts at a Glance. 2001. SC2.16/ Docs Ref. Online has 1994- (not published every year).

Useful organizational information. Rights, types of courts, judges (duties,not names), jury system, legal system, probation, education, administration, organization chart, and glossary. (Description from 2015 document.)

Research Publications. Colorado Legislative Council. Scattered holdings. Most recent 2005. JK 7801 .A32 Morgan and Ref

Detailed treatment of issues of interest to the Legislature. Pull down the Research menu to select issue briefs by topic. For example, under Agriculture, Water. In addition to issue briefs, find summary of legislation, bill tracking, and resource books, memos, and other publications.

Colorado General Assembly. 1984-1986,1989,1995/1996-1997 JK7830 .C635a latest edition in Ref; earlier in Storage.

This booklet includes "how a bill becomes a law."

Digest of Bills Enacted by the . . . General Assembly. Colorado State Publications Library. GA6/150.9/ Doc Ref Online 1933- (name varies over the years).

Annual summary of enacted bills. For example, vetoed bills and portions thereof.

My Librarian

Jocelyn Boice

Email Me

Contact:

jocelyn.boice@colostate.edu

970-491-3882

Subjects: Botany, Zoology

Library Help

Connect with library staff via chat, email, phone or text.