EndNote

EndNote Desktop can be specialized to your needs and situation.

This page is outlines the set-up procedures for using some of these features. More detailed instructions on how to use these features can be found in the guides and tutorials on the Learn & Get Help page of this guide.

Set up the features for:

1. Automatically Attaching PDFs
2. Select, Add and Update Citation Formats
3. Cite in a Format that Uses Abbreviated Journal Titles

Full-Text from CSU Subscriptions

If you want to attach PDFs to your citation records in EndNote, you can add access to the University Library's collections into your EndNote preferences. This will not catch all full text available in CSU collections*, but it will speed up the process!

*certain publishers block this function and will not permit the full text pdfs to be gathered in aggregate

There are two steps to the set up.

Step 1

In EndNote in Windows, go to Edit > Preferences > Find Full Text. In EndNote in MacOS, go to Endnote 20 > Preferences > Find Full Text.

Make sure all 4 checkboxes are ticked.

Copy and paste the following text into the respective boxes:

• Open URL Path:

https://colostate.alma.exlibrisgroup.com/view/uresolver/01COLSU_INST/openurl?

• Authenticate With...URL:

https://ezproxy2.library.colostate.edu/login

Step 2

In EndNote in Windows, go to Edit > Preferences > URLs and Links. In EndNote in MacOS, go to Endnote 20 > Preferences > URLs and Links.

Copy and paste the following text into the respective boxes:

• ISI Base URL:

http://gateway.isiknowledge.com/gateway/Gateway.cgi   

• Open URL Arguments (include the "?" at the start!):

?sid=ISI:WoS&aufirst=AUFIRST&aulast=AULAST&issn=ISSN&isbn=ISBN&atitle=ATITL&title=TITLE&volume=VOLUME&issue=ISSUE&date=DATE&spage=SPAGE&epag

Select a Citation Format

EndNote offers both general citation formats (MLA, APA, Chicago, AMA, IEEE, etc) and specialty ones used by specific scholarly journals. NOTE: AMA and JAVMA citation formats are currently titled JAMA style in EndNote.

Change the format in EndNote:

1. Double click on any reference in your library to open it
2. Select a citation format using the droplist at the bottom of the article's record
3. If you do not see the format you need, click "Select Another Style" to open the full, alphabetic list of options you can search or browse, select, and click "choose".

This process will apply the selected format to all references in your library until you change this selection. Repeat this process in a Word document to select your citation format for your paper.

Change the format in a Word document:

1. Go to the EndNote tab in the top menu bar
2. Select a citation format using the "Style" droplist
3. If you do not see the format you need, click "Select Another Style" to open the full, alphabetic list of options. Select the one you want and click "OK".

Specific journal citation formats are not guaranteed to be fully accurate or current. Check the journal's website for instructions and search the EndNote online database of citation formats for more updated version.
 

Download a New or Updated Format

Citation formats issue regular updates. Make sure you have the most current update available in EndNote!

If you need an updated citation format:

1. Visit https://endnote.com/downloads/styles/
2. Search for the format by name in the "keyword" box. If multiple options are available, read the descriptions carefully and select the one you need.
3. Scroll to the bottom of the citation format's page and click "Download Style".
4. Open the downloaded file with EndNote. This will open a box in EndNote that it titled the same as the citation format you downloaded.
5. In EndNote for Windows, go to File>Save As.
6. In the Save As box, make sure the name of the format is accurate and delete the word "Copy".
7. Click Save.
8. Close the citations style box.
9. Use the process above to select the style in EndNote and or Word. It will most likely be found under "Select Another Style"

Add Journal Titles Lists

Some citation formats like AMA (including JAVMA) and IEEE require journal titles to be abbreviated in references. EndNote can automatically abbreviate the journal titles for you, but it needs you to select and install discipline specific lists of journals.

You can install these journal title lists at any time without damaging existing records.

1. In the EndNote Desktop top menu, go to "Library > Open Term Lists > Journal Terms List".
2. If the Journals List that opens is empty, skip to step 4. Otherwise, highlight a journal name, and press Ctrl+A on the keyboard to highlight all the journals (on a MacOS, this would be Command+A).
3. Click "Delete Term". The Journal List should now be empty.
4. Go to the "Lists" tab at the top, and click on the "Import List" button.
5. Select the list in the field most relevant to your research and the references in your EndNote collection. Click Open.
6. Repeat step 5 if you want multiple lists.